Help / Advice required!

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Speedypalmer

by Speedypalmer

I’m quite new to cycling, arrived at it after an injury ruined running career, and this summer I plan on doing the Alpe d’Huez triathlon (long course). The bike leg is 115km long, non-drafting and includes three 800m plus climbs, and the UK half Ironman at Wimbleball Lake, which also included a very hilly non-drafting bike section.

The time has come for me to start putting together the bike for the job!!! I’m been doing a lot of research and thinking about the requirements and although I plan on doing other triathlons in the build-up I have decided to avoid the TT bike route. Not being from a cycle back ground I think I’ve got enough to learn without adding the complication of a TT bike. Also I’m not sure a TT bike will benefit me for these races? Feel free to disagree!

My budget is healthy, but not endless, maybe £3,000 max! Given the demands of my main two targets (non-drafting / very hilly) I’m thinking a light weight aero setup would be best?? Or should I just go light weight!???

Currently my local Specialized shop has a beautiful S-Works Venge (2013) frameset in my size (54cm) for £1,100, what seems like a steal and a good starting point for my build, plus leaves some cash for a decent build??? But will it be too heavy a platform / not appropriate for climbing up mountains!!!!!?

Thank you

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

victorduraace

by victorduraace

At this time of year shop around, eBay, classifieds and bike shops have their test models. With low mileage for half a price. But before shopping, get measured and decide on size. I would go with light and maybe clip on aerobars for flat sections.

CPongpanich

by CPongpanich