Good advise about Pioneer's power meter

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

rOYk

by rOYk

Hi,

I've been using the second version for 8 months now (Dura Ace 9000) and I would like to recommend you all not to buy this PM.

When the PM is working, it's great and super accurate, but they have some bug on the left-hand arm that I can not get rid of, every time I pedal hard, the left side stop working and the only solution is to uninstall the battery and reinstall it.
The American help desk is bad, they told me that the "battery needs to be replaced" "the magnet installation was wrong"...etc

A good friend of mine have the same crank and he have the same issue.
Happy holidays and keep away from this PM

Infin1ty

by Infin1ty

rOYk wrote:Hi,

I've been using the second version for 8 months now (Dura Ace 9000) and I would like to recommend you all not to buy this PM.

When the PM is working, it's great and super accurate, but they have some bug on the left-hand arm that I can not get rid of, every time I pedal hard, the left side stop working and the only solution is to uninstall the battery and reinstall it.
The American help desk is bad, they told me that the "battery needs to be replaced" "the magnet installation was wrong"...etc

A good friend of mine have the same crank and he have the same issue.
Happy holidays and keep away from this PM

The problem is actually related to the battery cover, it looks like a minor flaw in the design of it.
You have the SGY-PM910H, when they introduced the new left only/right only option besides updating the firmware they also modified two minor flaws (and a new model SGY-PM910H2):
1) Chainring Adapter that holds the right leg sensor in place when changing chainrings - lots of users managed to harm their sensor (very fragile cable) when changing chainrings. (Part number: SGY-AD910)