Travel / "B" Bike

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

steventran

by steventran

I'm thinking about building a bike specifically for travel (climbing), training, commuting, mixed terrain, and bad weather (descending). I have no experience with anything other than a straight up road bike with rim brakes, but I wanted to get some views from the forum about what brakes to use on an S&S coupled frame.

I have no experience with disc brakes, but I'm considering them because I'll be using the bike for overseas bike holidays with lots of climbing. Holidays are expensive, so I'll be climbing and descending rain or snow or shine. One other reason I'm considering them is because I'd like to be able to change to larger tires and use the bike for some gravel or dirt riding. For a travel bike, I assume hydraulic discs are out of the question. I've read that mechanical disc brakes are not as good in terms of power or modulation. I'm considering a hybrid solution: TRP HY/RD.

The drawback of disc brakes is weight. The TRPs are about 200g per caliper, not including rotor. Rim brakes would be less than half the weight and probably less of a hassle to set up/fix when traveling. When descending in the rain when you're probably already going slowly, how big is the difference in practical performance between rim brakes and disc brakes once the pads are able to grab?

If I go with disc brakes, should I opt for quick releases or thru axles? Will I have issues if I need to fix something on the road or in foreign countries or remote locations with one type of axle over the other?

superdx

by superdx

I had the same train of thought as you. Some issues for disc brakes: