PowerCordz Swift installation. Newbie seeks advice.

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

WannabeWeenie

by WannabeWeenie

After reading all the threads I could find arguing the merits of the various cables and housings, I have decided to convert my bike to full Power Cordz Swift cables and housings for both brakes and shifters. I have had no prior experience with segmented cable housing whatsoever.

I have read about how the cables can only be crushed in a clamp one time. The bike is externally cabled so I do not have to worry about fishing segmented housing through tubes. Anything else that I should be wary of?

EDIT: Thread title changed per feedback.
Last edited by WannabeWeenie on Fri Oct 23, 2015 11:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Marin

by Marin

From the thread title I first thought you lived in a condo and got a turbo trainer, and were now having problems with your neighbours!!!! :D

Sorry, no experience with segmented housing :/

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

prendrefeu

by prendrefeu

WannabeWeenie wrote:Anything else that I should be wary of?

Yeah, maybe having a better thread title so people out there can help you out with your specific concerns. :thumbup:
Exp001 || Other projects in the works.

WannabeWeenie

by WannabeWeenie

Just in case someone comes across this thread in search of information on PowerCordz Swift cables and housings, I have decided to post this:

Recommendations from the Manufacturer
I called IO Products to see if they had any suggestions before I embarked on this project
1. Arrange the beads on the liner for drainage. This means the convex ends of the beads either face upwards or forwards on the bike.
2. Pretension the rear derailleur cable by holding the derailleur at the third cog in from the end of the cassette.