Time RXS Ti to DA 9000 - worth the 60g weight penalty?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

RedRacer

by RedRacer

As the title says… I have been riding Time RXS Ti Ulteam pedals (~185g) for the past five years. They have worked well for me but are starting to develop some lateral play in the bearings and I gather the RXS doesn't have a particularly wide or stable platform for the cleat. The Dura Ace 9000 is the other pedal that has caught my eye - well-built, nice bearings, good cleats with 3deg of float and Shimano reliability…..but this is the WW forum and the DA pedals are quite a lot heavier. Are they enough of an improvement to overlook the relatively large weight penalty?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

mike
Resident Pro

by mike

you will not notice the difference riding, nor will you notice it lifting the bike. i'd say go for it.

WeightySteve

by WeightySteve

IMO...

Pedals and wheel-skewers are the 2 places DuraAce is well worth the extra weight for the quality of the product.

I switched from older Time Equipe Ti (with metal cleats, still the best, but heaviest, pedal/cleat combo ever made), to newer Time iClics. Within about 2 months I abandoned them, Time has really lost the plot with their modern pedal designs, and had switched to DuraAce pedals. Best swap I ever made.

prendrefeu

by prendrefeu