chinese carbon handlebars: YES/NO ?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

J00P

by J00P

Hello,
on my cyclocross bike I have a heavy (~350gram) Cannondale C3 handlebar.
Are there any decent chinese carbon handlebars, or is use of these handlebars considered to be too risky? Which supplier would you recommend?

(since there are many happy users of chinese frames on this site, I hope there is some experience with handlebars as well)

Thanks!

McGilli

by McGilli

I've been using chinese bars on my CX bike for 2 years now with no problem. But yes - you must choose a reputable seller.

I actually use an integrated bar and stem combo since they tend to be heavier duty with the all in one construction. I was using a deda bar/stem before - but when my bike tipped over from leaning on a tree - and the drop snapped - that's when I went to heavier bars. No problem since with many falls and hits to the ground while riding.

But - if you are looking to use lighter bars than what you currently have - I don't know as my integrated bars weigh 360g...

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

J00P

by J00P

thanks.
With the integrated bars I would loose my stem (weighing 120 g) so it would still be an improvement.
What manufacturer did your bar come from?

odin99

by odin99

n = 1. i broke mine going over a bump. they were FSA aerowing imitation. no more for me. others have had success.

dereksmalls

by dereksmalls

I'm running Hylix carbon bars with a Hylix stem on my CX race bike, no issues at all. Have ridden them on MTB trails too and no problems so far

kulivontot

by kulivontot