Where to spend my money

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

CanadianBiker

by CanadianBiker

I've been shopping bikes for the last 2 months and I seem to be getting more confused and not getting a clearer image. I am turning to you guys in the hope to find the right answer.

I have a pretty fix budget but I am unsure where I should focus my money.

Should I go with a higher end frame such as an F8, K8-S or a C60 and equip the bike in Ultegra DI2 or is that blasphemy? Or Should I get a cheaper frame and put DA Di2? I can't afford one of these type end frames and equipping the bike with DA DI2. The other option is I could drop the DI2 but go mechanical but I test road DI2 bikes and really loved the system.

I'm also noticing that a few stores are charging me 500-1000$ disc components is that normal?

mrgray

by mrgray

@CanadianBiker - just my two cents

you should spend the money on what you want. if you don't do that now, you'll end up doing it eventually.

so if your strongest preference for a bike is for di2, then prioritise that.

there are lots of great frames that are cheaper than an f8 or c60. for example the ridley helium sl. people rave about that frame. and it is close to half the price.

remember to save money for wheels. can i recommend bora one's? hard to beat.

are you putting disc brakes on this bike? if so why? also it is a newer technology so you'll be limited in choices (wheels for example) and it doesn't fit with your stated goal of high end and yet restricted budget.

what about second hand? could be a great way to achieve 75% of what you want for a lot less than brand new.
Bobo S&S Steel Bike - 7.5 kg
Oltre XR2- 6.6 kg
Look 585 - 6.8 kg
Look 695 SR :D

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

mike
Resident Pro

by mike