Road Bike Aerodynamics

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

climbandpunishment

by climbandpunishment

Hi all! A friend and I are designing an aerodynamic road bike, and in the thread describing the project over in the Introduction/Gallery forum someone asked a particularly good question: if I want an aerodynamic bike, how can I, as a consumer, choose one without a supercomputer or wind tunnel?

As an aerodynamicist by trade, I thought I'd try to put together a set of guidelines that would make it easier to eyeball-judge a given bike and its design methods, and to evaluate how much truth there is to a given company's claims. I obviously can't write a set of rules that will always be unimpeachable for every frame, but I figured if I can help people identify the best few frames that likely really do live up to marketing claims, it'll benefit the industry through competition and therefore me when I look to buy a new bike.

I need help to make sure the guide is useful for its purpose, and therefore:
1) accessible to as many people as possible but also informative
2) not chock-full of errors, both linguistically and technically

Below is a link to the guide in its current (rough) form. I would very much appreciate your guys' feedback.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/30qwz14oi2jrnzr/Easy%20Guide%20to%20Bike%20Aerodynamics%201.1.pdf?dl=0

kgt

by kgt

I was the one to ask. Many thanks!

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

H0RSE

by H0RSE