Saddle like Specialized Romin

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

KWalker

by KWalker

Some older threads about this on here, but nothing new.

Essentially the Romin is great, but the plastic bit near the nose is not. The Evo is slightly better, but not really.

Looking for: center channel, ~143mm width, and a tad bit of curvature. The new Aspide and some of the PRO saddles look good, but I have no experience with them and no ability to demo them. Any advice?
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.
Gramz
Failed Custom Bike

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

nlouthan

by nlouthan

I've been riding the exact same saddle and am getting ready to try a Selle SMP Dynamic. Did a Retul fit on Monday and my fitter suggested this saddle. He put me on the Romin a few years ago, but thinks some of the newer saddles are superior. He also likes the Specialized Power and the ISM Adamo. I tried the Specialized Power on the trainer, but couldn't seem to find a comfy place on it. On the Selle SMP Dynamic, it was quite easy to get into the correct place. I've been extremely happy with the Romin, but I have a feeling the Dynamic is going to be better for me.

BdaGhisallo

by BdaGhisallo

Try the new Spec Power saddle. It feels just like the Romin but with a better nose and the cutout is more generous to boot. Great saddle.

Derf

by Derf

No experience on the Romin. I have a slightly older Aspide--and it's pretty dang narrow (mid 130's width). No idea if the newer ones fit exactly the same, although the shape doesn't look like it has changed too dramatically.