Looking for road build opinions.

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Jcgill

by Jcgill

Hello, i have been lusting over Moots vamoots CR ti bikes for a few years. I finally am in the position to build one up, but now that discs are coming i am second guessing my build due to concerns of having an obsolete rim brake "lifetime titanium frame"

This thread is NOT to start a debate disc brakes vs. rim brakes.

I would like to build a bike that i can ride for several years (5-10) and upgrade occasionally instead of buying a whole new bike when i get bored (thats why i want ti).

Now i am considering the vamoots cr or vamoots disc road.

I think discs would be overkill for me because:
I would not ride this moots in inclement weather.
I live in the flat lands of the chicagoland area.
The bike would only see roads, no gravel or dirt road adventures.

So my question to you is what would you do if you wanted to build a ti frame at this moment and keep it as a main ride for a decade?!
Build a cr with rim brakes?
Build a disc bike?

Thanks for any advise,
Jon

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

ardennes777

by ardennes777

The first thing you need to consider is what parts history you have and are familiar with (ie shimano,sram etc).
The second thing you need to consider (which I see you have) is the terrain the bike would be ridden on (flat lands)!
The third thing is obviously budget!! How much you would be willing to spend!!

I have seen these bikes built up with alot of different combinations over the past few years.

If money was no limit I would recommend the following for what is a lovely frame:

If you are going to go with a rim brake build:
- 2015 Campagnolo Super Record Mechanical

- Deda Superleggara Post/Stem/Bars