Crank Asymmetry

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

kentbrockman

by kentbrockman

So I've been rolling the new Specialized Tarmac for a few months. In that time I've been battling what I would call a fairly annoying imbalance between my left & right legs. After a fitting, I was under the impression that it was attributed to a leg length issue. Shims were added to my right cleat with no resolution.

I finally spent some time today and believe I have tracked it down to my S-Works cranks being offset ~7mm to the drive side. The cranks appear to be installed correctly, they just simply sit further to the drive side. To fully divulge, I am using an SRM which may contribute to the problem. I can accommodate this by using a shorter spindle on the right, but this feels like a hack.

My question is... has anyone else come across this issue? Is there a better fix than changing spindles?

deek

by deek

How do you know that your cranks are offset?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

kentbrockman

by kentbrockman

deek wrote:How do you know that your cranks are offset?

Measure from the center of the seatube to the outside of each crank arm. Also been feeling entirely unbalanced for months.

newforker

by newforker

I thought the same thing when I first got my S Works crank..this was while working at a Specialized dealer..took the calipers and measuring tape to every S bike that had a specialized crank..there was about 50 on the floor plus another 50 in the warehouse..they all were offset to the drive side...if you check on Specialized's website, under FAQ this is a question that pops up quite frequently..also make sure you tighten the 3x 1.5 mm allen bolts that pre load the crank, they can come loose pretty much everyride

kentbrockman

by kentbrockman