Saddle recommendations: moving on from Fizik Arione VS

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

lrdunc

by lrdunc

Hi everyone,

I'll preface this by saying that I understand how personal saddle choice is...everyone is different and all that. Understood. As I'm new to the road game, I'm just looking for some guidance to get me in the right ballpark.

I'm brand new to cycling. Got my first bike in August of this past year. It's a 2014 Specialized Allez Sport, 54cm. I also have a Thomson Elite setback post.

I've been riding the Fizik Arione VS saddle since I got the bike (immediately swapped out the stock one), so roughly 2,300 miles so far. It's worth noting that I got the Arione from my dad (he rides as well and it was one of his old saddles), not because I determined it was the proper size / shape for me. While it's much better than what came with the bike, it's just not working out for me. Typically I'll start to get that glorious taint-discomfort at around the 35 mile mark on a ride. As an interim solution, I've moved the Arione forward a bit, which has helped. On Sunday I did 55 miles and barely noticed any soreness whatsoever. But, of course, this is far from ideal.

I got a proper fitting from my local shop when I first got the bike. I went into the shop yesterday and asked about potential new saddles and the fitter suggested the Aliante when I described the sort of soreness I've been experiencing. Problem is, I'm not a fan of the black / red color scheme...it matches my bike, but I'm just not a fan. I'd prefer something all black, or with much more subtle coloring. I know the Aliante comes in all black, but that would also require getting the carbon version which is considerably more expensive (right?).