Specialized Venge Expert vs BMC TMR02 Ultegra

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Rick797

by Rick797

Which one should i pick between the two i mentioned in the title? My LBS sells them at the same price, both aero frames with Ultegra 6800 and alloy training wheels. I like both of them estetically. Main differences are the hidden rear brake of the BMC (not hidden in the Venge) and the FSA SLK Light crankset on the Venge, while the BMC has the standard Ultegra crankset. The Venge also has a carbon S-Works Aerofly aero road handlebar, while the BMC has a standard alloy one. Cheers, any advice or opinion is welcome :beerchug:

sjwelsh19

by sjwelsh19

Having ridden both bikes, (the TMR01 and Sworks venue) I would buy the sworks venge.

The brakes on the TMR02 are the biggest pain, switching from training wheels to other wheels of different diameters (rim width), you have to adjust spacers, and being a bike mechanic myself it still takes forever. The ride quality of the tmr01 was very harsh, it doesn't have nearly as much compliance as the venge.

Theres a reason why you don't see any of the BMC pro team riders riding the bike. I am a cat1 bike racer, racing domestically in the US and still would not ride this bike if i had a choice. Venge all the way!

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

ophiravina

by ophiravina

I would also go for the venge, the frame looks better, a lot of pepole ride it and it has much better spec. nothing to lose :thumbup:

Rick797

by Rick797

Thanks for the replies folks! And yeah, i have noticed not a lot of BMC riders use the TMR01, not even people like Gilbert who, as an all-rounder, could do with some of the aero aspects of the BMC, but instead prefer to go with the SLR01. So is the SLK Light crankset better than the standard Ultegra?

mattyNor

by mattyNor