traditional bend bars? 3ttt vs. zipp vs. ???

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

lasrever

by lasrever

ok, so i like traditional bend bars - i have been riding newton bar/stem in the shallow for what feels like a couple decades (i don't think they've been out that long so it can't be, right?) but they are getting scarce and i am feeling the draw of something lighter.
i recently did a build with fizik cyrano snake bars and as my first foray into carbon bars and i really like that aspect of it but don't love the bend - the drops are great but the transition from top to levers is a bit flat (i like the curve of the newtons there quite a bit).

i'm about to embark on a new build and kind of want to go carbon, light, etc. but i'm big (200 lbs former sprinter) so it all has to be within reason.

from what i can tell from photos 3ttt rotundo ltd and zipp's slc2 bars have, ahem, all the right curves but i thought i'd ask if there are other options out there and what peoples' opinions of said bars are.
again: looking for a round top, traditional bend, shallow to mid drop (think more model 64 than 66) and would greatly appreciate any thoughts and advice from the group.

thanks!
thanks,
nick

prebsy

by prebsy

I too prefer the classic/traditional/round bend bars. My favorite bars so far have been:
3t rotundo- drop 139mm/ reach 83mm, alloy & carbon
Zipp sc SL88- drop 130mm/ reach 88mm, alloy
ritchey neoclassic- drop 128mm/ reach 73mm, alloy

Unfortunately the rotundo is the only one available in carbon. It seems like the classic bend is a dying breed, a pity for sure.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

KWalker

by KWalker

The SL-88 was available as the vuka sprint and SLC2, but are no longer produced. The vuka is not DA9000 compatible.
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.