Bianchi Oltre XR2 or BMC SLR01

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

SGMD

by SGMD

Time for a new frame, and I have narrowed it down to the above.

Stack and reach for each are pretty much the same (Oltre has 4mm lower stack, 1mm more reach), and the frame prices are within $500. I will build it up myself with a mix of Dura Ace and Ultegra Di2.

I don't race anymore but still have good power, and I'm more of a rouleur than anything.

My biggest uncertainty with the Bianchi is the BB386 BB, just because I have no experience with it, especially with a Shimano crank. BMC uses BB86, and I have 2 bikes with this BB and no issues.

Anyone have any relevant experience with these frames that would be helpful?

Many thanks!

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

g32ecs

by g32ecs

I've ridden 3 BMC frames from the flexiest - stiff, one of them being the SLR.

I loved that bike. Power transfer is amazing and it's an all-rounder. My "problem" with it is that I found it very stiff (was coming from a RoadRacer and RaceMachine). I just wanted something more forgiving. Plus, I had a frame a size bigger than what my usual size should be. In the end, I sold it to someone (I actually saw the guy podium on my frame).

I have no experiences with the Bianchi but a teamate of mine uses it and he demands a stiff frame. He's a sprinter and has podium'd and won on the bike all year. I'm sure he can recommend it to everyone.

If I were in your place, I'd take the SLR since it's within $500 and you said your 2 other bikes already have BB86.

ardennes777

by ardennes777

The Oltre XR2 is by no means a more "compliant" or "comfortable" bike than an SLR01.

The Oltre XR2 seeks to play the role of an "aero-bike" that can still "climb".