stack-reach comparison of 2014-2015 road frames

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

djconnel

by djconnel

Some stack-reach comparison charts for 2014-2015 road frames. I also include 2008 Cervelo R-series geometry. I have Cervelo R5 and Trek Madone on both of the plots for reference. Dotted lines show effect of more spacers (higher stack, slightly shorter reach) or a longer 0-degree stem (longer reach, slightly higher stack).

The Parlee tall is out of place here (I exclude endurance geometry, for example, of other companies) but I included it just for comparison.

rma

by rma

Nice chart, DJ. I'm a Cervelo fan and it shows how the stack-reach geometry is applied... very nice. I'm not an engineer or anything, but the linear evolution of the frames seems logical. The differences should be the slopes, and then every cyclist could find his very own optimal frame.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

djconnel

by djconnel

I really like the way Trek handles it. Here's the Trek Madone H1 and H2 curves compared with Cervelo old and new

That's basically 15 sizes for one bike.

I also add in the Domane sizes. The Domane Race looks like a very attractive bike. It would take around 8 cm of spacers to bring the Race up to a slammed standard Domane. The normal Domane is a stackfest.
Last edited by djconnel on Mon Aug 18, 2014 4:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

dudemanppl

by dudemanppl

Could you add Specialized?

Edit: My eyes have deceived me....

djconnel

by djconnel

More Specialized. The Venge is basically identical to the Tarmac. The Roubaix is fairly close to the Trek Madone H2, not nearly as relaxed as the Roubaix: around 2.5 cm spacer difference. The Madone H1 is more aggressive than the Tarmac, however: with two lines of Madone they can afford to be more aggressive on the longer/lower version.