De Rosa bikes

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

sychen

by sychen

Not a brand that gets lots of exposure here. Want to see peoples opinion of them?

Looking at a very good deal on a new 2014 idol frameset.

Bit hesitant to jump as I have no experience and cannot get a test ride before I buy.

Thanks

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Stolichnaya

by Stolichnaya

There have been a bunch of DeRosa's that popped up on the board recently so run a search and perhaps reach out to those owners. I only have experience with their steel and alu frames and that experience has been very positive. DeRosa is an iconic brand for sure. It lost its way for a few years a while back and some of their carbon frames had issues then. I get the impression that DeRosa has invested a lot of effort and come a long way to addressing all of those issues and their new frames are looking good. You may not have a ton of feedback here on the Idol or other models as DeRosa's are not known to be hyper light, but ride quality has always been solid. The Idol has been a workhorse model / design for DeRosa for a number of years and I would suspect that you will be happy with the frame, especially if you are getting a solid deal. If the geometry suits you, then give it a shot. You looking at the caliper or disc brake version?

PuroScattista

by PuroScattista

have only a few DeRosa's out here even in Italy.. yes they're around, but definitely a rarity even around their hometown here. No matter which DeRosa you go for, trust me they are head turners and convo starters

Geoff

by Geoff

Nice bikes, but really difficult to get parts for...

mike
Resident Pro

by mike

they make fabulous bikes and they are handmade and painted in italy. very easy to deal with. call them directly (if you speak italian). they also speak some english.