HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 429
i.e. I should have known it was magnet position?

I take your point, but it works 90% of the time, it's only under load that it borks - and exactly this happened with my other SRM, with the magnet centred on the white dot on the case.

I'll update the firmware, see if that makes a difference - however, once again I'll point out that I'm unsure how updating the firmware in the PC-VII is going to allow Garmin devices to talk to the powermeter...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Posts: 3783
Location: Bay Area
The magnet shouldn't influence the lack of speaking to all ANT+ devices, that's just poor design/execution on SRM's part.

_________________
Don't take me too seriously.
Bike
Strava


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:52 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:17 pm
Posts: 73
"1. The recommended position for the cadence magnet is on the underside of the bottom bracket.
2. Make sure the magnet is positioned between 21-51 mm from the center point of the bottom bracket shell. The cadence magnet must be installed properly in order for the PowerMeter to turn on, calculate cadence, and transmit data."

SRM Manual, page 5. Link below:

http://www.srm.de/fileadmin/user_upload ... _marks.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 429
Yes- not very helpful as that is exactly where the magnet is positioned.

It meets SRM's specifications - but doesn't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 429
Ok, this works perfectly in the stand- but then it did with the old setup...

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 429
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 10:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 429
Swapped the SRM onto my cross bike for a ride on Saturday:

Image

Image

This is a BB30 shell as opposed to the BSA of the other bike, and the magnet is directly over the back of the case - and well within the SRM specifications on their website (I believe).

Did I get dropouts during an effort?

Yep.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aaric, Bing [Bot], campbellrae, Chader09, DMF, Exabot [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], rmerka and 56 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Help troubleshooting reach adjust on Sram road levers?

in Road

peligro

1

144

Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:43 pm

Cosmo View the latest post


It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:51 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB