SRM dropouts, troubleshooting thereof

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Dammit
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm

by Dammit

i.e. I should have known it was magnet position?

I take your point, but it works 90% of the time, it's only under load that it borks - and exactly this happened with my other SRM, with the magnet centred on the white dot on the case.

I'll update the firmware, see if that makes a difference - however, once again I'll point out that I'm unsure how updating the firmware in the PC-VII is going to allow Garmin devices to talk to the powermeter...

KWalker
Posts: 5837
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Bay Area

by KWalker

The magnet shouldn't influence the lack of speaking to all ANT+ devices, that's just poor design/execution on SRM's part.
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.
Gramz
Failed Custom Bike

by Weenie


rma
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:17 pm
Location: Belo Horizonte, Brazil

by rma

"1. The recommended position for the cadence magnet is on the underside of the bottom bracket.
2. Make sure the magnet is positioned between 21-51 mm from the center point of the bottom bracket shell. The cadence magnet must be installed properly in order for the PowerMeter to turn on, calculate cadence, and transmit data."

SRM Manual, page 5. Link below:

http://www.srm.de/fileadmin/user_upload ... _marks.pdf

Dammit
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm

by Dammit

Yes- not very helpful as that is exactly where the magnet is positioned.

It meets SRM's specifications - but doesn't work.

Dammit
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm

by Dammit

Ok, this works perfectly in the stand- but then it did with the old setup...

Image

Dammit
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm

by Dammit

Image

Dammit
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm

by Dammit

Swapped the SRM onto my cross bike for a ride on Saturday:

Image

Image

This is a BB30 shell as opposed to the BSA of the other bike, and the magnet is directly over the back of the case - and well within the SRM specifications on their website (I believe).

Did I get dropouts during an effort?

Yep.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post