HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:03 am
Posts: 287
From my understanding they are sold in a set shift levers and the caliber pre bleed ready to use, like mtb

Which brings me to ask
1) Most modern road frames use internal cabling. Does the wrench need to dissemble the hose, route it through the frame and adjust the hose length and then re bleed ?

2) I doubt the frame internal brake cable holes are big enough to accommodate the hose cable?

3) Are there any brands that do separate brake cable stops for cable/hydro brakes? just like gear Di2/ Mech

It would be so ugly to cable the hose to the frame if 1) and 2) is not possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:19 pm
Posts: 650
Just get a steel frame and drill the appropriate holes, run the hoses, bleed, and use marine goop to seal up the frame when done...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:17 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:41 pm
Posts: 724
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
yes you have to take it apart and probably bleed it if you are going to thread it three the frame. if the frame has hosing al the way, the hydraulic hose will go in al the way, the hydraulic hose has the same or smaller diameter as a brake hose for mechanical brakes


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 1:06 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Melbourne, Australia
For SRAM (comes with a red double ended solid barb that brake fluid can't flow through)
- disconnect hose from caliper
- cut off barb/banjo
- thread in red double ended solid barb. This has a hole in it you can tie some fishing line/string.
- pass string through frame (if frame is new it probably has a bit of liner to aid this. if frame is used attach it to the old cable and pull it all through in one go)

If you do the next steps carefully without losing fluid you shouldn't have to bleed. That's probably 4 out of 5 times for me. Figure out a process that works for you.

- cut hose to length
- install new banjo/barb
- reconnect caliper

Shimano generally comes in pieces. STI lever, hose, caliper, fluid. So you have risk of spilling fluid in the frame as you install the hose. But you definitely need to bleed it after installation. If it's a pre-assembled/bled brake then follow the same process as for SRAM.

Frames that are designed for full outer won't have an issue as the hydro line is the same diameter as cable outer.

Frames that have cable stops in the frame and run on inner cable through can be a bigger issue. Usually those cable stops are removable so I take them out, drill them to allow the hydro line to pass through then reinstall. If you ever want to reinstall a cable brake you can either run full outer or purchase new cable stops from the frame manufacturer which are just a few pieces of aluminium ~$20.

If the frame as cable stops moulded directly into the frame then you have to heavily consider the suitability of a hydro brake. I wouldn't personally drill out my own frame...and if I were doing it for someone else I'd get written/signed consent with full liability on the owner of the frame as you don't know what you'll encounter once you take a drill/file/dremel to the frame.

_________________
Grover's Grumblings
Grover's Garage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 12:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 96
You have to cut, route, reattach, and rebleed. You need to cut the excess cable anyway.

_________________
S P L I T: 2010 Meivici: 14.4 lbs | 2003 Odile: 19 lbs | Hunter Cycles Cyclocross: 17 lbs | 2013 Dundee Cycles Jewell 29er: 17 lbs


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 12:32 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:12 pm 
Offline
in the industry

Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:25 pm
Posts: 1339
Location: Glermsford, Suffolk U.K
As above but if the frame has stops like my wifes did you need to make a few alterations with a file to get everything to fit.

_________________
www.thecycleclinic.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Gazelleer, Google Adsense [Bot], RedRacer, TurboKoo and 83 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. handlebar internal cable routing - rattle?

in Road

PoorCyclist

4

369

Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:40 am

11.4 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Internal Cable noise while riding. (Shimano Di2)

in Road

mightyduckie

5

305

Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:43 am

goodboyr View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Ultegra Di2 hydraulic with Red22 hydraulic calipers

in Road

petal666

1

498

Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:16 am

TheDoc View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Scott Foil Internal Di2 Routing, Internal Battery Questions

in Road

Zigmeister

5

1385

Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:35 pm

Zigmeister View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Cheapest road hydraulic setup?

in Road

eigner

10

485

Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:23 am

amey View the latest post


It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:15 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB