HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: High-end barrel adjuster
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 717
Can anyone recommend a good quality barrel adjuster for a FD cable? The one that came with my SRAM Red FD is a piece of junk. You'd think they'd include a really good one with their high-end derailleur. Not.

I'm looking for one that I can easily adjust with one hand while riding, and will hold that adjustment. If it's really light even better. :beerchug:

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: High-end barrel adjuster
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:00 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:30 pm
Posts: 1533
I know this isn't really answering your question, but have you considered just eliminating the adjuster entirely ?
I have no in-line adjuster and things have remained very stable for over a year after a short initial break-in.
As long as you have sufficient tension then you can make final adjustments with just the derailleur's travel limit screws.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1184
Location: UK
Jagwire make some nice aluminium ones.

Do a search, I'm sure there's a thread about inline adjusters.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 717
Rick wrote:
I know this isn't really answering your question, but have you considered just eliminating the adjuster entirely ?
I have no in-line adjuster and things have remained very stable for over a year after a short initial break-in.
As long as you have sufficient tension then you can make final adjustments with just the derailleur's travel limit screws.


I initially left the adjuster off, but I couldn't get enough tension on the cable and the FD wouldn't shift properly. An adjuster solved it, so I'd like to keep it.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 717
5 8 5 wrote:
Jagwire make some nice aluminium ones.

Do a search, I'm sure there's a thread about inline adjusters.


I already searched. The search on this site is garbage, didn't return with much. I will check out the Jagwire. Thanks.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily
drainyoo wrote:
I already searched. The search on this site is garbage


Use Google, and restrict it to this site. After you put in your search terms, add: site:weightweenies.starbike.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:22 pm
Posts: 218
My opinion only obviously, bit I have the SRAM one for my bike (bought it separately as my 6800 FD didn't come with one) and it's perfectly adequate. Surely once you set up the FD on the stand then you shouldn't really need to touch it again?

I'm struggling to understand why you would need to adjust it whilst riding......


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm
Posts: 635
I'd say it's because bikes tend to shift different under load than on the work stand.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 2312
Location: eh?
I'll pile on. You don't need an adjuster. If set up correctly you should have no issues. The FD really depends on the limit screws and not much else. If the FD is aligned properly, once you hit the limit screw you should have proper operation. There should be no reason to trim on the go. And if you are trying to trim out rubbing at max cross chaining, I would leave it as is. The noise is a nice alarm if you forget where you are on the cassette.

I have built and re-cabled SRAM Red many times and never had an issue. Two of our bikes with Red have built in cable adjusters and I don't every recall touching them once the set up is dialed in. One thing to make sure is that you are capturing the cable correctly in the pinch bolt - wrap over the little tab.

Also (as might have been noted in your other threads), if that FD isn't aligned properly and set at the perfect height, you will always struggle to get it dialed in.

_________________
swinter wrote:
Mr.Gib got it right


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 9:47 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Once my Red was dialed in I have not changed the adjuster. But having an adjuster makes the dialing in process much easier. It's tough to make tiny changes in cable tension with no adjuster. That makes it worth the couple grams.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily
Eric - I agree on all points.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:26 am
Posts: 414
Location: California's country side
You mark the cable where you pinched it with sharpie and make it a bit tighter.
But I had a big problem it won't shift up and it was super tight almost flexing the braze on that's how tight it was. The solution was to clean the bottom of the BB shell cable guides and add a bit of lube there some might disagree but as long as you clean up regularly it is fine.
Try that. It really helps before you start messing with the cable tension too much.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:20 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: New Zealand
Get in contact with Weeracerweenie, he could maybe make you some super light ones as he built some to work with SRAM

_________________
2012 BMC SLR 6.02kg http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110390


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 10:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 717
eric wrote:
Once my Red was dialed in I have not changed the adjuster. But having an adjuster makes the dialing in process much easier. It's tough to make tiny changes in cable tension with no adjuster. That makes it worth the couple grams.


Totally agree. In my limited experience with a Red FD, I had a ton of trouble getting the right tension without the adjuster. And yes, the FD was properly aligned and spaced. Once I installed it, I had the FD tunes in no time. Plus, Sram reccomends that you install it.

The reason why I would like to be able to adjust with one hand while riding is if for any reason the adjuster loosens and throws the tension off. The Sram adjuster is impossible to turn with one hand, and I've read that they sometimes loosen. So far hasn't happened to me, but I was curious if they are any better options out there.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 10:54 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:14 pm
Posts: 15
I am experiencing the same problem on one of my bikes. Would love to find an elegant solution.

_________________
My bikes:
2014 Falco Saker
2013 Tonic Fabrications road disc
2011 Seven Axiom SL
2011 Cannondale trail sl1 UK
2009 Zanconato Team cross
2008 Bianchi Milano Cafe racer
2008 Bianchi 1885
2002 Lemond


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Lightest inline barrel adjuster?

in Road

kulivontot

4

733

Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:16 pm

btompkins0112 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Inline Adjuster hot or not

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Road

gaisdergerman

31

2401

Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:19 am

Vagabond View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Does Shimano STI shifter come with cable/housing/adjuster?

in Road

wynnbb

1

222

Tue May 06, 2014 2:47 pm

maddog 2 View the latest post


It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:58 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB