Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:43 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm
Posts: 110
Does anyone know if the Ui2 sprint shifters are compatible with the Ultegra Ui2 6770 shift levers? I have read of a special port for the sprint shifters on the new 6870 levers. Is this true? Amy I out of luck with the 6770 levers?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:55 pm
Posts: 207
Location: Finland
Sprint shifters use different kind of port. So according to book you are out of luck. I have not tried to modify sprint shifter plug to use it with ST6770

_________________
-- Giant Propel Advanced Pro 0 Ultegra Di2 -- Pivot Mach 429SL XTR Di2 -- Trek Boone Disc Ultegra Di2 -- Cannondale SuperX Ultegra Di2 -- Cannondale Jekyll XT -- Cannondale Capo -- Focus Izalco Max Ultegra Di2 --


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 8:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:47 am
Posts: 99
they are directly compatible with the following shifters:

6870, 9070, 7970.

they are not directly compatible with 6770 shifters. they use a different connector. I'm sure there are ways of hacking it, but i can't advise how to do that.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 1443
But also note that the sprint shifters for the 9070 and 6870 shifters are distinct from those compatible with the 7970 shifters. The 7970 use to older plug and cable setup and are not E-Wire compatible as the 9070 and 6870 are.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 4:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:47 am
Posts: 91
If you are talking about the SW-R610 sprint shifters then, yes, they do work with 6770 as they are E-tube wires.

Quote:
The Shimano Di2 SW-R610 Remote Switch is not backwards compatible with the Dura-Ace 7970 Di2 derailleurs or wire kits. It compatible with 6770, 6870, and 9070 Di2 systems. It plugs into the second port of the Di2 levers, and can not be used in conjunction with TT shifters.


http://www.competitivecyclist.com/shimano-di2-remote-switch-sw-r610?ti=UExQIENhdDpCcmFrZSBMZXZlcnMgJiBJbnRlZ3JhdGVkIFNoaWZ0ZXJzOjE6MjE6Y2NDYXQxMDA0ODI&skidn=SHI0625-ONECOL-ONESIZ

Also, even though I suppose everyone immediately knows you are talking about electronic Ultegra, it most certainly is not "Ui2". The "D" in "Di2" does not reference Dura-Ace.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:42 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Pa USA
IMHO, Competitive Cyclist is wrong. The climbing shifters and the tt shifters work with 6770 because they have firmware inside, the sprint shifters do not. Shimano added a specific port on 6870 and 9070 with a notch for the tab that is present on the sprint shifter plug. I don't know of anyone who has actually had them working on a 6770 setup. Your options are to upgrade to 6870 levers (indexing control is in the rd) or hack something using the climbing sifters w/o the case.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 6:52 am 
Offline
in the industry
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 2:45 pm
Posts: 2880
Location: London, UK
Philbar72 wrote:
they are directly compatible with the following shifters:

6870, 9070, 7970.

they are not directly compatible with 6770 shifters. they use a different connector. I'm sure there are ways of hacking it, but i can't advise how to do that.

No Ultegra DI2 or Dura Ace 9070 parts are compatible with Dura Ace 7970 bar the battery.

OP Have a look at this
http://carltonbale.com/shimano-di2-ever ... d-to-know/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:47 am
Posts: 91
Quote:
The sprinter shifters can be set up with both SM-EW90-F 5-Port (for a combo of Aerobar Extensions Shifters, Climbers Shifter and Sprinters Shifter)or SM-EW90-A 3-Port (Climbers Shifter and Sprinters Shifter). The SW-R610 shifters are compatible with Di2 series 6770, 6870, and 9070.


http://www.artscyclery.com/Shimano_Di2_ ... WR610.html

I think if you have the 3-port or 5-port junction box then the SW-R610 can work with 6770.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm
Posts: 110
An update: I unfortunately ordered the sprint shifters based on the Competitive Cyclist description before I asked the question in this forum. They arrived and it turned out that CC was wrong and the posters here were right- they do not work with 6770. You can't even plug them in because of a tab on the connector they don't go into the standard etube hole. You do need 6870 or 9070. So, back to CC they go. They are nice but not worth buying new shifters.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:44 am
Posts: 301
I have the 9070 sprint switches... Hardly ever use them when sprinting, so you are not hugely missing out.

They are great on long sweeping descents with varying steepness, when you want to keep a cadence, pedaling as hard as you can though, in the drops...

This post helps nothing, I realise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:50 am
Posts: 6
djwalker wrote:
An update: I unfortunately ordered the sprint shifters based on the Competitive Cyclist description before I asked the question in this forum. They arrived and it turned out that CC was wrong and the posters here were right- they do not work with 6770. You can't even plug them in because of a tab on the connector they don't go into the standard etube hole. You do need 6870 or 9070. So, back to CC they go. They are nice but not worth buying new shifters.


Can it be as simple as grinding back that plastic tab and it will fit?

Any chance you can post a close up pic of the tab'd cable end Vs a normal SD50 cable end?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 1160
Location: Canada
The answer is no. That tabbed plug requires "dumb" switches that are on the other side of the di2 bus. The normal plugs are on the smart side of the bus. Since the switches are dumb, they won't work.

_________________
My RCA


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Shimano Pro Handlebar? Stealth Evo vs Sprint + Vibe Carbon

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

natefontaine

22

1451

Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:49 pm

wheelsONfire View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) 2016 Allez Sprint

[ Go to page: 115 16 17 18 19 ]

in Road

spdntrxi

282

37815

Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:02 pm

mannequinforce View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Louis Garneau Sprint Helmet

in Road

rainerhq

4

493

Sat Apr 23, 2016 11:24 am

ryanw View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Go with Specialized Allez Sprint or Cannondale CAAD12?

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

burninglegs

15

3085

Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:18 pm

nathanong87 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Workstands: Feedback Sprint vs Elite Race Pro

in Road

nemeseri

7

427

Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:22 pm

rst72 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited