Shimano UI2 Sprint Shifter Compatibiliity

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
djwalker
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm

by djwalker

Does anyone know if the Ui2 sprint shifters are compatible with the Ultegra Ui2 6770 shift levers? I have read of a special port for the sprint shifters on the new 6870 levers. Is this true? Amy I out of luck with the 6770 levers?

Thanks

by Weenie


TurboKoo
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:55 pm

by TurboKoo

Sprint shifters use different kind of port. So according to book you are out of luck. I have not tried to modify sprint shifter plug to use it with ST6770
Scott Foil
Shimano 9150
Shimano FCR-9100-P
Shimano C60 tubulars

Philbar72
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:47 am

by Philbar72

they are directly compatible with the following shifters:

6870, 9070, 7970.

they are not directly compatible with 6770 shifters. they use a different connector. I'm sure there are ways of hacking it, but i can't advise how to do that.

BdaGhisallo
Posts: 1797
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm

by BdaGhisallo

But also note that the sprint shifters for the 9070 and 6870 shifters are distinct from those compatible with the 7970 shifters. The 7970 use to older plug and cable setup and are not E-Wire compatible as the 9070 and 6870 are.

brownish
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:47 am

by brownish

If you are talking about the SW-R610 sprint shifters then, yes, they do work with 6770 as they are E-tube wires.

The Shimano Di2 SW-R610 Remote Switch is not backwards compatible with the Dura-Ace 7970 Di2 derailleurs or wire kits. It compatible with 6770, 6870, and 9070 Di2 systems. It plugs into the second port of the Di2 levers, and can not be used in conjunction with TT shifters.


http://www.competitivecyclist.com/shimano-di2-remote-switch-sw-r610?ti=UExQIENhdDpCcmFrZSBMZXZlcnMgJiBJbnRlZ3JhdGVkIFNoaWZ0ZXJzOjE6MjE6Y2NDYXQxMDA0ODI&skidn=SHI0625-ONECOL-ONESIZ

Also, even though I suppose everyone immediately knows you are talking about electronic Ultegra, it most certainly is not "Ui2". The "D" in "Di2" does not reference Dura-Ace.

glepore
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:42 pm
Location: Pa USA

by glepore

IMHO, Competitive Cyclist is wrong. The climbing shifters and the tt shifters work with 6770 because they have firmware inside, the sprint shifters do not. Shimano added a specific port on 6870 and 9070 with a notch for the tab that is present on the sprint shifter plug. I don't know of anyone who has actually had them working on a 6770 setup. Your options are to upgrade to 6870 levers (indexing control is in the rd) or hack something using the climbing sifters w/o the case.
Cysco Ti custom Campy SR mechanical (6.9);Cannondale SS Evo Di2 7970 (5.79); Willier Cento Uno Air Di2 9070 (7.0); C40 Mk2 DA 7800 ; Anvil Custom steel Etap;1996 Colnago Technos Record

User avatar
ultimobici
in the industry
Posts: 2984
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

by ultimobici

Philbar72 wrote:they are directly compatible with the following shifters:

6870, 9070, 7970.

they are not directly compatible with 6770 shifters. they use a different connector. I'm sure there are ways of hacking it, but i can't advise how to do that.

No Ultegra DI2 or Dura Ace 9070 parts are compatible with Dura Ace 7970 bar the battery.

OP Have a look at this
http://carltonbale.com/shimano-di2-ever ... d-to-know/

brownish
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:47 am

by brownish

The sprinter shifters can be set up with both SM-EW90-F 5-Port (for a combo of Aerobar Extensions Shifters, Climbers Shifter and Sprinters Shifter)or SM-EW90-A 3-Port (Climbers Shifter and Sprinters Shifter). The SW-R610 shifters are compatible with Di2 series 6770, 6870, and 9070.


http://www.artscyclery.com/Shimano_Di2_ ... WR610.html

I think if you have the 3-port or 5-port junction box then the SW-R610 can work with 6770.

djwalker
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm

by djwalker

An update: I unfortunately ordered the sprint shifters based on the Competitive Cyclist description before I asked the question in this forum. They arrived and it turned out that CC was wrong and the posters here were right- they do not work with 6770. You can't even plug them in because of a tab on the connector they don't go into the standard etube hole. You do need 6870 or 9070. So, back to CC they go. They are nice but not worth buying new shifters.

TheDarkInstall
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:44 am

by TheDarkInstall

I have the 9070 sprint switches... Hardly ever use them when sprinting, so you are not hugely missing out.

They are great on long sweeping descents with varying steepness, when you want to keep a cadence, pedaling as hard as you can though, in the drops...

This post helps nothing, I realise.

Choco
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:50 am

by Choco

djwalker wrote:An update: I unfortunately ordered the sprint shifters based on the Competitive Cyclist description before I asked the question in this forum. They arrived and it turned out that CC was wrong and the posters here were right- they do not work with 6770. You can't even plug them in because of a tab on the connector they don't go into the standard etube hole. You do need 6870 or 9070. So, back to CC they go. They are nice but not worth buying new shifters.


Can it be as simple as grinding back that plastic tab and it will fit?

Any chance you can post a close up pic of the tab'd cable end Vs a normal SD50 cable end?

goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

The answer is no. That tabbed plug requires "dumb" switches that are on the other side of the di2 bus. The normal plugs are on the smart side of the bus. Since the switches are dumb, they won't work.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post