Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:54 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 12:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:26 am
Posts: 551
Location: USA
Does anyone have a way to make the older 7850/7900 wheels capable of running 11 speed. I have seen some pics where one person ground out part of the drive side hub shell. I would prefer something much easier to preserve the integrity of the wheel.
I really love the Dura Ace C24 tubs and the new 9000 c24 tubulars are way over my budget. Thanks

[b]Locked. As covered in petals' thread[/b]


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 12:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:19 am
Posts: 741
Location: Brisbane, Oz
Take a mm off a small section of the hub flange does not effect the hub in any way. I've been riding on modified wheels for over a year now. It can't be done without this modification, ALTHOUGH, installing a 9000 freehub might work, but that's a greater than $200 exercise and expensive if it doesn't fit.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=115919


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:54 pm
Posts: 338
I did the same modification on my both daily and winter wheels.
They work perfect, without any problems.

Only thing you need to be careful is, if there is enough wall to remove to fit 11 speed cassette. 1 to 2mm is mostly more than enough.

Also don't worry about the using 10 speed back again. You always can put a washer at the end and run 10 speed cassette.

_________________
My Orbea Orca
My Stava
My Instagram


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Is 11 speed Dura Ace chain compatible with Dura Ace 7900 gruppo?

in Road

wootenlakeguy

3

382

Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:37 am

pdlpsher1 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 11 speed Dura ace Di2 shifters compatible with 11 speed Ulte

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

jorisee01

26

1391

Fri Nov 06, 2015 4:42 pm

SuperDave View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Dura Ace 7900 STI makeover

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

FastDad

28

3116

Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:17 pm

Lightweenie View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. dura ace di2 10 speed red light lit

in Road

hm123

9

536

Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:23 pm

goodboyr View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Dura Ace C50 or Fulcrum Racing speed ?

in Road

PinaRene

2

427

Sat May 28, 2016 10:23 pm

mpulsiv View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], euan, EvilEuro, fh8425, Frankie - B, MSNbot Media, tmr5555 and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited