Light but Colnogo C59 ride quality?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Rogerkdvm

by Rogerkdvm

I am a rookie to this forum looking to get on someone's wheel for an easier ride to knowledge. I ride a Colnogo C59 10 sp Di2 Dura Ace external battery. With ENVE 2.2 Tubulars it weighs about 14.6 lbs but with 3.4 clinchers over 15 lbs. I am considering building a light ride in the 12-13 lb range. I cant stand mechanical any more so want Di2 11 with internal battery. Is there a frame that is in the 650-750 Gm range that will have any where near the ride quality of my C59? I am new to the "science" of building light so the choice of components is something i need help with as well. I rode a Cannondale EVO with my ENVE 3.4 clinchers on it and it was quick, responsive and a harsher ride than my C59. Looking to try a Wilier Zero7, Parlee and Cevelo R5; any comments or others to try? Thanks Roger :)

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

mnmasotto

by mnmasotto

I am looking for the same frame as you. Unfortunately, none of the frames you listed are in the weight range of 650-750 grams. Close but not there. My parlee z5sl, size small, weights 780 grams stripped bare. My friends Wilier Zero7 weights close to 780 grams. I have yet to ride a frame this light and as comfortable as my Colnago C59. As a matter of fact, the only frame which is more comfortable is my C50. To this date, I find that the very light frames tend to be very stiff. I am waiting to see how the new Ax-Lightness Evo frames turn out. I have to see one in the flesh or on this forum.

mjduct

by mjduct

Light carbon = stiff carbon = harsher ride. Big difference in ride between my buddies 2010 cervelo R3 and my 2011 R5.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kgt

by kgt