Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Tue Jun 28, 2016 11:49 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 2:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
I'm considering switching from Campy Super Record to EPS with the V2 power unit, but I'm unsure about mounting locations for the new power unit on my Cervelo S2. Anyone have any experience or advice for mounting location or method for the new power unit on an S2 (2011 S2)? I'll likely be upgrading to a new frame that will be more accepting of an internal battery mount.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 672
Location: Greater Pittsburgh
I have no experience with the S2, but I have two bikes with internal Super Record/Record EPS. Two things to keep in mind, first, the smallest internal diameter of the seat post is usually right behind the bottle cage bosses, make sure you clear those as that is the mounting point. Second, you need to have a way to exit the frame for the charging port. I used the drain hole under the BB for my wife's Parlee Z5SLi and I used the secondary entry hole for the Di2 external battery on my NeilPryde Bura SL.

_________________
"Suddenly the thought struck me; my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 1:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for the input, but unfortunately the S2 won't allow for internal mounting of the battery. I can run the cabling internally, but I will have to mount the battery somewhere externally. I'm thinking about using double sided tape and zip ties on the chainstay as a temporary solution until I choose a more EPS friendly frame. It won't be elegant, but it will get the job done.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 3:09 am 
Offline
in the industry
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:14 am
Posts: 1376
Location: SYD
In the seat post it's self??

_________________
Skunkworks Bikes


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 2:45 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 673
Under the saddle. Should fit between the rails. Can't remember the length and since mine is installed inside the frame, it's too much hassle to check.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
Butcher wrote:
Under the saddle. Should fit between the rails. Can't remember the length and since mine is installed inside the frame, it's too much hassle to check.


That's an interesting idea. I'll have to check the length of the battery to see if that type of setup would work.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:20 am
Posts: 325
.


Last edited by Causidicus on Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
Causidicus wrote:
Why can't you get it in the seat tube? Looks big enough.


According to Cervelo, the battery won't fit in the seat tube. I agree that it looks like it is big enough. I haven't personally measured and I can't find dimensions online, but I'd really prefer if it would fit.

Anyone have insight into the precise dimensions on the S2 seat tube?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:20 am
Posts: 325
.


Last edited by Causidicus on Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:21 am
Posts: 30
Through the head tube is the go and mount in the down tube, just depends on your frame size.
I have done it before on bikes but you will need a special threaded cable install tool or make one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:43 pm
Posts: 1
Hello - I am looking to do the same thing with my S2. Did you ever figure this out? If so, what was the solution?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. 2015 Cervelo S5 TriRig rear brake install

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

DamenH85

22

1432

Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:19 am

srshaw View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BH G6 di2 install

in Road

gazrichards

4

251

Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:45 pm

stormur View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. PF30 install

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

defride

15

846

Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:20 pm

defride View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Clean Colnago C60 Di2 install

in Road

showdown

10

955

Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:04 am

Calnago View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BB90 install tool

in Road

nemeseri

5

250

Mon Mar 28, 2016 5:13 pm

BikeAnon View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bearsdidit, Bing [Bot], Enda Marron, Exabot [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited