HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 2:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
I'm considering switching from Campy Super Record to EPS with the V2 power unit, but I'm unsure about mounting locations for the new power unit on my Cervelo S2. Anyone have any experience or advice for mounting location or method for the new power unit on an S2 (2011 S2)? I'll likely be upgrading to a new frame that will be more accepting of an internal battery mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2014 2:48 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Greater Pittsburgh
I have no experience with the S2, but I have two bikes with internal Super Record/Record EPS. Two things to keep in mind, first, the smallest internal diameter of the seat post is usually right behind the bottle cage bosses, make sure you clear those as that is the mounting point. Second, you need to have a way to exit the frame for the charging port. I used the drain hole under the BB for my wife's Parlee Z5SLi and I used the secondary entry hole for the Di2 external battery on my NeilPryde Bura SL.

_________________
"Suddenly the thought struck me; my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 1:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for the input, but unfortunately the S2 won't allow for internal mounting of the battery. I can run the cabling internally, but I will have to mount the battery somewhere externally. I'm thinking about using double sided tape and zip ties on the chainstay as a temporary solution until I choose a more EPS friendly frame. It won't be elegant, but it will get the job done.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 3:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:14 am
Posts: 1201
In the seat post it's self??

_________________
project black


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 2:45 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 529
Under the saddle. Should fit between the rails. Can't remember the length and since mine is installed inside the frame, it's too much hassle to check.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
Butcher wrote:
Under the saddle. Should fit between the rails. Can't remember the length and since mine is installed inside the frame, it's too much hassle to check.


That's an interesting idea. I'll have to check the length of the battery to see if that type of setup would work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:20 am
Posts: 325
.


Last edited by Causidicus on Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:47 am
Posts: 4
Causidicus wrote:
Why can't you get it in the seat tube? Looks big enough.


According to Cervelo, the battery won't fit in the seat tube. I agree that it looks like it is big enough. I haven't personally measured and I can't find dimensions online, but I'd really prefer if it would fit.

Anyone have insight into the precise dimensions on the S2 seat tube?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:20 am
Posts: 325
.


Last edited by Causidicus on Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:21 am
Posts: 24
Through the head tube is the go and mount in the down tube, just depends on your frame size.
I have done it before on bikes but you will need a special threaded cable install tool or make one.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:43 pm
Posts: 1
Hello - I am looking to do the same thing with my S2. Did you ever figure this out? If so, what was the solution?


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:47 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], gospastic and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campy EPS V2 on Cervelo RCA - Includes Link to Photos

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

audiophilitis

15

2560

Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:29 pm

audiophilitis View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. At home Di2 install....

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Road

chiltonp

35

2796

Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:24 pm

rma View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Install SM-EWW01 unit

in Road

mrbruhn

12

512

Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:33 pm

kij View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. caad10 bb30 quarq install help

in Road

mbohara

4

552

Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:07 am

btompkins0112 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. CANNONDALE SPIDERING - INSTALL/SETUP

in Road

G6612

14

903

Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:43 am

ProEvoSLTeamHighMod View the latest post


It is currently Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:06 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB