Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:28 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken

Those bugs will be fixed ASAP (next few days) as they are unfortunately more serious than expected.

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 8:05 pm
Posts: 4
I recently bought a Giant Propel Advanced 3. I have previously had a Giant TCR 1 (2011). I belived it wouldn't be a problem to move my powermeter (which is on a Rotor 3D+ crank) from the TCR to my new Propel.

In my seach on the internet I've come across some people saying that the powermeter+crank construction might not fit the Propel. Apparently the powermeter shouldn't have enough space to rotate? Can this be true? Do I need to buy a new crank?

I hope you can help me as I would really like to make this work :D

Have a nice weekend
Rasmus


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 4:42 am 
Offline
Shop Wrench

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 6:15 am
Posts: 742
http://www.power2max.de/northamerica/su ... standards/

"You only need to check compatibility on BB86 and BB386EVO frames, all other frame formats are always compatible with power2max. To check compatibility, please measure the outer diameter of the bottom bracket bore. It should not exceed 53mm to ensure compatibility with power2max."

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:50 am
Posts: 709
A co-worker has a Quarq on his Propel, a couple guys on our shop team have Stages on theirs, and the Giant Shimano team is using SRM's on their Propel's last I checked. You should be fine!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:37 pm
Posts: 1
Since this thread is high up on the search list when you search for Giant Propel + Rotor 3D+ + p2m, I might as well updated it with my findings in case others do as me and stumble upon it during when considering the Propel.

I've just put together a Giant Propel with a Rotor 3D+ crank and the Type S Power2Max unit and it fits without any problems. I used the Rotor 4130 crank bearings which is designed for use with Shimano Pressfit.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ChristianB, Google [Bot], kurisu, markpost, numbers505, Quattroporte, XCProMD and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited