Best DIY carbon fiber kits?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

crimsonbadger

by crimsonbadger

I'm looking to extend and modify the seat mast on a frame and am in the process of making some molds that I intend to wrap with carbon fiber. It's an area of the frame that experiences relatively high loads, so I imagine I'll need to use several layers of carbon and do a thorough job purging excess resin. This is my first time doing this.

For those who have ordered carbon fiber kits in the US, what manufacturers do you recommend? Any caveats?

FIJIGabe

by FIJIGabe

I would suggest you contact a carbon repair shop and see if this is something they have done, or would be willing to do. You wouldn't want to risk your life on a modificiation like that. I can personally recommend KirkLee in Austin, TX, you I'm sure you could pick someone's brains at Calfee.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

crimsonbadger

by crimsonbadger

FIJIGabe wrote:I would suggest you contact a carbon repair shop and see if this is something they have done, or would be willing to do. You wouldn't want to risk your life on a modificiation like that. I can personally recommend KirkLee in Austin, TX, you I'm sure you could pick someone's brains at Calfee.

I've had Calfee repair a frame and they do excellent work. Their excellent work, however, comes with a significant price tag.

I don't plan on racing this frame; it's more of a fun project and an opportunity to work with carbon a bit. In any case, I plan on overbuilding the seat mast and building the saddle clamp hardware into the mast.

crimsonbadger

by crimsonbadger

That said, if consensus among those who have worked with these kits (not prepreg) is that I won't be able to achieve the strength I need, even with several layers, then I'll scrap the project.

Stefano

by Stefano