HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Posts: 92
Location: San Francisco
Hi all, I just acquired a set of Di2 7970's. I want to install the system on a flatbar. Suggestions ? I wanted to know if SW 7971 switches would work without the brake lever / shifter combination and what would be a good way to mount them. I saw the link below, but don't know what system it was and how it was wired. Thanks in advance...

https://www.google.com/search?q=di2+on+ ... B800%3B471


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:08 am
Posts: 218
yumseyo wrote:
Hi all, I just acquired a set of Di2 7970's. I want to install the system on a flatbar. Suggestions ? I wanted to know if SW 7971 switches would work without the brake lever / shifter combination and what would be a good way to mount them. I saw the link below, but don't know what system it was and how it was wired. Thanks in advance...



Good place to start: http://www.ki2bike.com/

They make shifters that use the Shimano climbing switch guts, don't know if it'll shift the FD on the 7970 though...


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:32 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:02 am
Posts: 32
with 7970 you can use pretty much every momentary switch you want.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33080121/pre%20historic/sram.jpg

i had switches paired with S500 sram hoods, i did not like wire brakes so i have now old di2 with R785 levers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 598
Location: Canada
7970 is the older non e tube system so there's no need to get too sophisticated. You can use any momentary switch to mimic the shifters. I've used the cateye remote buttons successfully. You just need to have good soldering and wire stripping skills. There's a thread on the fairwheel bike forum where there's a ton of info including schematics and alternative switches.

_________________
My RCA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:02 am
Posts: 32
yeah

http://fairwheelbikes.com/forum/viewtop ... f=3&t=7580

thats my project but i´ve lost some schematics


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 598
Location: Canada
I'm away from my computer at the moment but as soon as I can will dig up the drawing link.
Actually that post has it all. Happy reading. The new e tube stuff made this an obsolete knowledge. The beauty of 7970 was the easy hacking! Good times.

_________________
My RCA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 598
Location: Canada
And this thread was the one that inspired me to my first internalize job on a 2006 r3. After that I've done probably 10 bikes including a look 595.

viewtopic.php?t=67791

_________________
My RCA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 430
We played around with an old 7970 group for our show bike- good fun, and as you say, the beauty of the first generation stuff was that you could do this stuff:

Image

More here: http://talbotframeworks.co.uk/bikes/dalsnibba/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4479
Location: Canada
Ok, that's cool...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 430
We wanted to make a point of the steel frame- hence the ground "wire" is the frame.

It was a fun project, we're in the middle or doing a second one with 9070- using gold leaf under the paint, which is an old hot-rodder technique.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Posts: 92
Location: San Francisco
That paint on wiring of Talbots show bike is really nice. How did you get the lines so straight?

Thanks all for your fine threads too.

I've decided to go with cat eye buttons, could anyone sound in on the correct wiring for them if I were to remove the connector going to the main shifters and cut it off before the connector (just in case I need to splice them back). I think there should be 4 wires from the shimano connector and only two coming out of each cat eye switch. I will be purchasing two sets, one for each side, and want to mount them on the flatbar somehow. (two sided tape?). Thanks in advance..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 430
We used a fellow whose normal work is pin striping race cars, custom motorcycles etc- very nice chap.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 598
Location: Canada
See the thread here and my entry specifically for how to wire the buttons.

http://fairwheelbikes.com/forum/viewtop ... f=3&t=7817

_________________
My RCA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Posts: 92
Location: San Francisco
goodboyr wrote:
See the thread here and my entry specifically for how to wire the buttons.

http://fairwheelbikes.com/forum/viewtop ... f=3&t=7817


Well, I got 2 pair of cateye 300z switches for 20.00 ! and just got a pair of cable extensions for 20.00. $40.00 will be a lot cheaper than the sw7971 switch I was going to buy for $225.00 and still had to figure out how to mount them. Thank you so much "goodboyr" !!!

Can you give me some suggestions on mounting them on a flat bar? Can't blame a guy for trying...hee hee... :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 598
Location: Canada
Ha! That part I don't know. However we have just uses silicone seal to glue the bare buttons to the under side of road bars with flat sections (3t ergonova). So you've got lots of options.

_________________
My RCA


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:22 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChristianB, Google Adsense [Bot] and 40 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. 7970 Di2: 2 vs. 4 wire battery?

in Road

TomHelly

0

443

Mon Nov 04, 2013 3:56 pm

TomHelly View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. ultegra 6770 vs DA 7970

in Road

fancycoconut

2

461

Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:00 pm

glepore View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Upgrading - 7970 Di2 vs 9000 Mechanical...

in Road

addicted

4

830

Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:48 pm

pdlpsher1 View the latest post

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies. Will a 7970 wiring harness work with 6770 hardware??

in Road

hillrider

1

216

Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:44 am

upside View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. campagnolo experts help please

in Road

bm0p700f

11

719

Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:29 am

bikerjulio View the latest post


It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:20 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB