expansion plug overtorque ?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Drpoomanchu

by Drpoomanchu

Hello all, new to the forum and cycling as well.. I need some guidance.. I bought a nice 2012 Fuji Altamira BLK SE and decided to build my own bike because i was liking road more than cross.. i bought the extra lite ultrastar expansion plug for my headset assembly. Fairwheel bikes sells this plug and gives install directions on their website. The thing is, the torque specs they give are for the previous model @ 15nm and are not the correct torque specs.. After i torqued it to 15nm it seemed like too much so i went to extralites website and they had actual torque specs of 7-8nm.. Im new to the carbon world and i dont know if i should be worried or not. I took it apart and looked over the steer tube inside and out. i dont see anything out of the ordinary and never heard anything odd.. any helpful insight would be great thanks

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

HillRPete

by HillRPete

Especially with the expansion plug it is easy to find out how much torque you need, and it is absolutely not required to "crank it to 11" just in case. Once the fork is sitting tight (check by pushing the bike back and forth with the front brake pulled), you can just clamp the stem, even if well below max torque spec on the plug.

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru

by fdegrove

Hi,

TS is worried about over torqueing the plug and damaging the steerer in the process.
Personally I just torque it by hand ( I know it's not the best advise), if I feel it's slipping I tighten it a bit more.
Naturally you should not go above the max. torque the manufacturer specifies but I usually get away with much less torque than that.
After all its only need to get rid of excess slack in the bearings and that's it.