Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Wed Jun 29, 2016 2:03 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8183
Location: Geelong
Have landed myself the Rotor power meter to review, which comes on 3D+ cranks.

Now, from all I've read (and searched for!) I cannot work out if I can fit these without needing to remove the FSA bb386 adapter cups that have been installed on my Sempre (bb30 shell)?

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:38 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: Welland, Ontario
In this case I'm posting from what I've learned about the various BB systems - not actual experience.

But according to my research the Rotor crank you have is a 30mm spindle, whereas BB386 is a Shimano 24mm spindle standard.

So yes you do have to remove the cups and install Rotor's BB30 solution.

_________________
There's sometimes a buggy.
How many drivers does a buggy have?

One.

So let's just say I'm drivin' this buggy...
and if you fix your attitude you can ride along with me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GekiIMh4ZkM


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 742
Location: South West England
Rotor can provide an adapter/shim for this purpose.

_________________
Scott CR1 - 7.1kg - cracked
BMC SLR02 - 7.6kg - cracked too...
Kinesis Aithein - 6.9kg - hit by car!

MASON Definition | Camapgnolo Chorus/Potenza | TRP Spyre SLC | Novatec CXD - TBC


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8183
Location: Geelong
I thought BB386 was, in fact, an acronym. With the '3' standing for 30mm (read: diameter of the axle) and the '86' referring to the spacing (read: same as 24mm width axles). Idea being you get the oversized axle with the wider length that comes with standard 24mm axles.

I'll stand corrected though.

Devon wrote:
Rotor can provide an adapter/shim for this purpose.

Aware of this.

What I'm asking is can the current cups I have in there accept the crank, without the need for the adapters.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 742
Location: South West England
Ah I see, sorry. I know a few people who run Rotor cranks so will ask around.

_________________
Scott CR1 - 7.1kg - cracked
BMC SLR02 - 7.6kg - cracked too...
Kinesis Aithein - 6.9kg - hit by car!

MASON Definition | Camapgnolo Chorus/Potenza | TRP Spyre SLC | Novatec CXD - TBC


Last edited by Devon on Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:09 am
Posts: 262
It'll fit perfectly I think. Rotor cranks come with a looong spindle so you can do BSA30, and because of that BB386 is the native fit for the 3D+ (BB30/BBRight require adapters to fix the extra spindle length). BB86 = 24mm spindle, BB386 = 30mm spindle. Gotta love these standards.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:38 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: Welland, Ontario
OK I was misreading.

there is this Rotor BB chart

http://www.rotoruk.co.uk/pdfs/RotorUk_StandardDeviation.pdf

What's irksome is that the chart indicates you need a "BB30 bearing kit" but then Rotor does not produce one, which may mean that there's nothing special needed, but it would have been nice to explain.

Although Rotor don't call it this, I believe the crank is effectively a 386 EVO. So looks like your existing BB30 bearings and spacers will work.

_________________
There's sometimes a buggy.
How many drivers does a buggy have?

One.

So let's just say I'm drivin' this buggy...
and if you fix your attitude you can ride along with me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GekiIMh4ZkM


Top
   
 Post subject: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8183
Location: Geelong
Ta guys. That's what it seemed like to me.

I'll fit them up tonight and report back.

dudemanppl wrote:
and because of that BB386 is the native fit for the 3D+.

That's exactly how I interpreted it. However finding info online for it is pretty tricky.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
 Post subject: Rotor 3d+
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:22 pm
Posts: 12
Curious if anyone has run into an issue installing a Rotor 3d+ on a BB386 frame. Just picked up a '14 Jamis Xenith SL and can get a Shimano and GXP crank to install without issue running the necessary adaptors, but the Rotor 3d+ seems to come into contact with the frame before getting tight enough. Seems like the spindle is too short, but I know others who have successfully installed this crank on their BB386 frames so just curious if there is something me and the LBS mechanic are missing or if this is a uniquely incompatible frame.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 10:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 202
My understanding is that Rotor 3D+ are im BB386, so you should try to install without the spacers / adapters.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 11:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:22 pm
Posts: 12
Agreed that it should be BB386 and no adapters used (spec calls for 2.5mm spacer on NDS and DS), but not working quite right.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 12:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 202
Ok. My frame is PF30, and I will have to use adapters (I will start assembly next week). If I am not mistaken, there was a thread a few weeks ago about this same configuration (from Tinea Pedis, I think).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 5:14 am 
Offline
in the industry

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:34 pm
Posts: 271
Location: North Carolina
what bottom bracket do you have installed?

_________________
The New: BH http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=117760

The Old: Trek http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110051


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 202
I will use Chris King PF30. I initially planned on using c-bear to avoid the spacers, but they ran out of stock for my configuration


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Rotor 3d+ and bb386
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 10:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:22 pm
Posts: 12
Tinea Pedis' issue was different from what I am posting about. I have a BB386 frame with the Rotor 4630 BB (native BB386 BB for the 3D+ crank) and the spindle seems to be too short as I can't get it to sit in the frame without binding against the frame and if I add more spacers to avoid the frame contact, I can't get the DS arm to sit on the spindle. Almost seems like the bike may be closer to a BB90 width, but need to get an accurate way of measuring this to confirm.

have contacted both Rotor and Jamis and neither seem to know why this would happen.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Best BB386 : GXP bottom bracket ?

in Road

stormur

14

640

Mon Jun 13, 2016 4:03 pm

Mr.Gib View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BB386 power meter compatibility

in Road

stormur

6

228

Mon May 23, 2016 12:03 pm

ms6073 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power2max BB386 EVO compatible with BSA frames ????

in Road

LouisN

4

328

Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:47 pm

rpenmanparker View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BB386 power meter options

in Road

MarginalChains

11

575

Thu May 12, 2016 1:05 am

MarginalChains View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. CAAD10 Advice BB30/BB386 crank

in Road

Aaronskibeat

8

660

Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:30 pm

bikerjulio View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JAQ1 and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited