Damaged my frame, repair, replace or just ride? *Update pg2*

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

AGW

by AGW

My RD broke and flew into my wheel today. My chain stays are pretty chewed up, but only one spot is showing bare carbon. What do you guys think?

This is the underside of my NDS chain stay:

More:

RD hangar won't die :lol:

Thanks gents!
Last edited by AGW on Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FIJIGabe

by FIJIGabe

I'm no expert in the matter, but it looks like the carbon may have some cracks in it. I would have someone look at it more closely to make the call. Call your LBS and see if they can recommend someone who does carbon repair.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

AGW

by AGW

I sent some pics to Calfee.

drchull

by drchull

Repair, I would not ride that. 1st pick is bad.
Of course when I had the same issue I repaired and replaced. Even better now have two bikes (well 4 actually).

alexaqui

by alexaqui

I suggest getting it repaired. I had a Colnago C50 with a completely cracked through seat stay and sent it to Ruckus in Oregon. They did a great job... can barely tell it was fixed. Just an alternative to Calfee. Price is about the same. I also checked with Carbon Frame Repair and they seemed to know what they are doing as well.

Razor

by Razor

I have almost the exact same kind of impact/crack on my DS chain stay in almost the same place, it happened 1.5 years ago. It has caused no problems whatsoever. Has not gotten worse, no noise. I ride 200-250mi per week.

veloflyte
in the industry

by veloflyte

No need to quote pics