HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Hi,

I would like to know, is that possible to get a TCR Advanced SL frameset configured for Di2? I just come back from my LBS where the guy told me it is the same frame on the Giant SL 0 Di2 bike, but it does not seem to be exactly the same when I look on Giant website. The Advanced SL frame already has a plug under the top tube to accommodate the Di2 wire, but there is no opening on the chainstay tube for the rear derailleur...

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 40
The Di2 specific frame isn't available separately but the standard frame works really well with Di2 as there is a hole just behind the head tube and one just in front of the BB originally designed to route SRM cables but works perfectly with Di2. I've fitted 2 sets to TCR Advanced SL frames and it looks really neat.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:44 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:10 am
Posts: 1146
The standard frames have ports but it is not full internal as you will have to run external to the rear derailleur and battery on the downtube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Lemond75 wrote:
The Di2 specific frame isn't available separately but the standard frame works really well with Di2 as there is a hole just behind the head tube and one just in front of the BB originally designed to route SRM cables but works perfectly with Di2. I've fitted 2 sets to TCR Advanced SL frames and it looks really neat.


Yeah it was my concern that the Di2 specific version was not available separately. Di2 frames are very difficult to find! So with the non-Di2 specific frames, is there a way to set things up without using any tape at all for the rear derailleur?


Last edited by kresyzig on Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
nitropowered wrote:
The standard frames have ports but it is not full internal as you will have to run external to the rear derailleur and battery on the downtube


My main concern is the rear derailleur. I want to use a custom battery in the seatpost, so this part should not be too much an issue...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:10 am
Posts: 1146
there is no hole in the dropout for a cable. Though if you are brave, I'm sure you can drill one in


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Lemond75 wrote:
The Di2 specific frame isn't available separately but the standard frame works really well with Di2 as there is a hole just behind the head tube and one just in front of the BB originally designed to route SRM cables but works perfectly with Di2. I've fitted 2 sets to TCR Advanced SL frames and it looks really neat.


So when you perform that kind of fit, I guess you use the internal wiring cable kit rather than the external one, right? What is the difference exactly between these two kits? Smaller plugs for the internal kit and the bottom bracket hanger for the external kit?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 10:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:28 pm
Posts: 4
nitropowered wrote:
there is no hole in the dropout for a cable. Though if you are brave, I'm sure you can drill one in

At least in my frame there is a hole. I have been able to direct a wire from the bottom bracket through the tube to the dropout area. Having not seen the wire kit cable thicknes don't know for sure if the hole is enough big. However it is higly likely the hole is enough big.

Wating for the Ultegra Di2 coming avalaible.
I would like to assemble the battery somewhere underneath of the bottom bracket.
Downside of this location is that it is exposed to the dirt, but how sensitive the assembly will be to it?

The TCR Advanced SL frame in case is one the most first to have been manufactured.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 11:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:10 am
Posts: 1146
Are you saying you have a hole on the drop out on the outside? I know on mine, there is a hole on the inside and would be very hard to get the cable out w/o rubbing on the cogs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:56 pm
Posts: 775
nitropowered wrote:
Are you saying you have a hole on the drop out on the outside? I know on mine, there is a hole on the inside and would be very hard to get the cable out w/o rubbing on the cogs


I thought the same about routing the cable there as well. I did it on my P3 but there was more space than the TCR has. The drop out looks like metal to me, I'm quite tempted to drill it but IIRC it needs a 6mm hole which is quite a lot of material to remove, what do you think?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 4:37 pm
Posts: 146
Can you guys post the holes photo for me to see as I am interested in getting one myself and fit it with the Di2?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:28 pm
Posts: 4
nitropowered wrote:
Are you saying you have a hole on the drop out on the outside? I know on mine, there is a hole on the inside and would be very hard to get the cable out w/o rubbing on the cogs


You are correct the hole inside is very hard to get the cable out w/o rubbing cogs. It might be easier with Ultegra DI2, because it has essentially smaller diameter cable than the current DA DI2. I hope DA DI2 will be updated soon to include the technology from Ultegra DI2.

In the meanwhile I have changed my mind to prefer to keep cables outside and draw them along the upper route. Also will wait and see if the updated version of DA DI2 brings something usefull.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 1:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:10 am
Posts: 1146
I'm planning on getting an Ultegra Di2 kit once they are available so I will be able to report back if indeed it is possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:52 pm
Posts: 157
Lemond75 wrote:
The Di2 specific frame isn't available separately but the standard frame works really well with Di2 as there is a hole just behind the head tube and one just in front of the BB originally designed to route SRM cables but works perfectly with Di2. I've fitted 2 sets to TCR Advanced SL frames and it looks really neat.



hi, i'm late to this thread, but do you have any pictures or diagrams relating to retro fitting Di2 to such a frame? I have inherited a TCR Advanced SL1 ISP (2010) which has the stopper under the top tube, but i can't figure out how to run Di2 internally and exit the cabling for battery and front/rear mechs as they get towards the rear of the frame.

Any help and pics appreciated! :thumbup:

Cheers, Andrew


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:53 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 8:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:46 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Hautes Alpes, France
Hi, I have the same frame and am looking to fit DI2, another request for any photos of the solutions people came up with, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. bb up size for giant advanced

in Road

Erez_Pinarello

1

419

Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:15 pm

Irish View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Giant Propel Advanced - '14 vs '15

in Road

nameless

2

663

Sun Aug 17, 2014 5:21 am

nameless View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Giant Tcr Advanced SL - running 25mm tyres

in Road

upside

9

1477

Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:30 am

Stoo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Giant Propel Advanced Silver model weights

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

ajh

20

2749

Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:00 pm

ajh View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 08 Giant TCR Advanced Team ISP - Mount traditional seatpost?

in Road

locktopus

7

727

Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:04 am

latman View the latest post


It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:07 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB