Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:18 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:10 am
Posts: 18
I want to install some new cables on my cannondale supersix.

I am running Sram force with a red yaw front derailleur.

Is it recommend to install inner adjusters? Now I have but I never use them. But probably it is easy when you do the setup.

What is your opinion?


Top
   
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 12:35 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 9:47 pm
Posts: 2196
Location: Santa Cruz, California, USA
For the front you need an in line adjuster if you are going to have any way to adjust the cable tension besides loosening the clamp and repositioning the cable. That's a difficult way to get the adjustment just right.

I'd recommend at least an in line adjuster for the front. Since the rear derailleur has an adjuster on it, an in line adjuster just means that you can adjust the cable while riding. I like that in case something goes out of adjustment or just needs fine tuning during a race. But my current bike doesn't have it and I haven't missed it much.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Posts: 87
Image

My bike has an inline adjuster for the front derailleur which you can see and also a quick release/ inline adjuster for the rear brake which is hiding behind the stem. Is my bike hot?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 7:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:30 pm
Posts: 1936
I went without an inline-adjuster on my SRAM-RED-YAW, and it took a lot of adjustment to initially get it right. I think I readjusted about a half a dozen times in the first week to get it "perfect". But since then it has been holding (about 9 months now) It does make me nervous.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 11:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 6:36 am
Posts: 129
Location: Sweden
Once the cables have stretched I've rarely had the need to adjust during a ride, so no. Plus they don't look good.

_________________
2015 S-works Tarmac DA9000, 6,29kg


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:06 pm
Posts: 372
Location: Yorkshire - God's Own Country
Twinning wrote:
Is my bike hot?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Not to my eyes but YMMV ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:25 am
Posts: 1318
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Twinning wrote:
Is my bike hot?


... any bike with SRAM is very un-hot.

I would go with in-line adjusters for both gear cables; they are very functional and convenient.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:14 am 
Offline
in the industry
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:31 pm
Posts: 361
Twinning wrote:

Is my bike hot?



If you have to ask.... :noidea:

I believe that bicycles do not put enough force on the shifting cable that it is possible to stretch, but I do believe that housing compresses.

That said, I do not use those barrel adjusters as you can adjust when necessary without them, using your rear derailleur. It's rare I'll ever adjust my FD as I never use my FD.

Or, get Di2/EPS and leave replacing shifter cables and housing behind, indefinitely.

Oh and my bikes are hot. (Statement VS question) :beerchug:

_________________
carbonLORD.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 6:20 pm
Posts: 72
it looks more like a tt bike with a dropbar


Twinning wrote:
Image

My bike has an inline adjuster for the front derailleur which you can see and also a quick release/ inline adjuster for the rear brake which is hiding behind the stem. Is my bike hot?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:26 am
Posts: 558
Location: USA
It's hot, there is always a bit too much jealousy around here. :up: :up: :up:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Posts: 87
upside wrote:
It's hot, there is always a bit too much jealousy around here. :up: :up: :up:


Ha thanks. I was just trying to make a point that you can barely notice an inline adjuster.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 9
I've found mine very easy to use. Instead of reaching down towards the frame to make adjustments, they are closer to the bars and stem. Jagwire makes them in lots of colors also. I go with hot.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:43 pm
Posts: 2758
All the ones I've had to work on have slipped out of adjustment over time. Making them necessary.

My bikes, whilst not hot, don't seem to need anywhere near as much adjustment. Typically a couple of goes at clamping the front mech and all is fine


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:43 pm
Posts: 2758
Just had a look at jagwires latest offering, look like a bit of thought has gone into them!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:26 am
Posts: 558
Location: USA
You will need a in-line barrel adjuster with the Yaw derailleur and the 9000 Dura Ace. You need to really ratchet up the tension to get those to work like they should. I have used Sram and Jagwires...and those work nice and are quite small.


Top
   
Posted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 6:38 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. 25.4 inline carbon seatpost

in Road

MikeC

6

384

Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:58 pm

jekyll man View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Crafting an inline seatpost

in Road

Stolichnaya

5

776

Wed May 18, 2016 4:16 pm

Stolichnaya View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: benzebub, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], IcedHalo, MSNbot Media, olmostalegend and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited