Help to verify freehub body replacement

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
sdexter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:14 am

by sdexter

hi all,

I'm very new here and at the moment i had a project that has to be postponed due to GS doesnt fit freehub body.

So my WS is Fulcrum racing 1 (2012 version) and i used ultegra 6800 GS.
Im thinking to replace the freehub body better then get a new set of WS such as mavic ksyrium, etc.
I've been searching on *bay and found couple, but im not 100% sure, there for i need help to verify is the freehub body fit my WS

here's the link:
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Fulcrum-Campagno ... 51b8d58f72

Geoff
Posts: 5093
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Location: Canada

by Geoff

Welcome.

I think that you are saying you have a Fulcrum wheelset with a Campagnolo freehub. You are running a Shimano Groupset and need to convert the freehub. If that is accurate, the link that you had posted should work for you.

by Weenie


User avatar
jekyll man
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:23 am
Location: Pack filler

by jekyll man

That's not quite how I read it Geoff-

Its the ebay link that's misleading.

Its a 10spd shimano wheel, but the groupset is 11 speed. Needs a redesigned freehub.

It might fit, but i'm not sure if a shorter NDS spacer is needed too.

The other option is to get a campag freehub body, and run an 11 campag cassette...
Official cafe stop tester

sdexter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:14 am

by sdexter

sorry if my request for help is not clear.

So im building a new bike with ultegra 6800, and i got an older version of Fulcrum racing 1.
The fulcrum racing 1 freehub body is for 10speed.
I planned to replace the freehub body with 11 speed so i can use my ultegra 6800 without buying a whole new wheelset.

After searching on ebay, i found that link on my post above.
But i couldnt get clear description regarding the fitment, there for i need help to verify

User avatar
ultimobici
in the industry
Posts: 2989
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

by ultimobici

Why not try your lbs?

Causidicus
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:20 am

by Causidicus

.
Last edited by Causidicus on Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sdexter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:14 am

by sdexter

Causidicus wrote:
sdexter wrote:I planned to replace the freehub body with 11 speed so i can use my ultegra 6800 without buying a whole new wheelset.

Look in the Fulcrum or Campagnolo parts catalogues.
You need Fulcrum RS-113 or Campagnolo FH-BUU015X1. Same part.


thnx Causidicus.
i have no experience in replacing freehub before,
does rs-133 or fh-buu015x1 need longer axle?

I hope this is just as simple as just open the fastener bolt and install the new freehub body

Causidicus
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:20 am

by Causidicus

.
Last edited by Causidicus on Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sdexter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:14 am

by sdexter

sweet, thnx Causidicus

nealrab
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 5:47 am

by nealrab

I was in the same predicament recently with an older Fulcrum R1 set that was never used, but I decided to keep the old freehub for Shimano 8/9/10 and just went with Ultegra 6700. Would be interested to hear how the freehub switchout went when you're done sdex...

goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

I switched over a fulcrum zero recently. Causidicus time estimate is just about right!

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post