HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 712
I did some searching and couldn't find answers.

I'm going to tune the current version of the SRAM Red RD with Fibre-Lyte mech plate and pulley wheels, but I'm not sure about a couple of things.

For the mech plate, does it matter which size cage the RD has? The Fibre-lyte plate doesn't seem to come in different sizes, and the SRAM site doesn't list different cage sizes, but a few places selling it offer short and medium cages. Not sure if of the fitting here.

Also, the jockey wheels come in 10t and 11t. I think the stock wheels that come in the RD are 10t, so does it matter which size I get, or I have to get the same size as stock?

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:55 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:29 am
Posts: 1371
Location: Mountain View, California
the size of the cage depends only if you are planning on running really big cogs in the back.

Like a 12-27 ideally should be using a longer cage. If you run an average size cassette (11-23, 12-23, 12-25 etc) a short cage should be fine. Also the jockey wheels are kinda moot point. The theory is a 11t spins slightly less than a 10t rear cog and thus saves on power (less power loss). It's negligible.

The one important thing to note for jockey wheels is match the design with the original one. I can't remember sram derailleurs, I never bothered to take my apart. But for Shimano the top jockey wheel is designed to have side to side float. Some aftermarket jockey wheels don't have this float make messes up with the shifting a bit.

_________________
http://www.hackracer.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 712
Thanks. So the cage length has no affect on the size of the mech plate? Basically the Fibre-Lyte plate will work with any size cage?

The jockey wheels do have lateral float, so it should be fine.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:29 am
Posts: 1371
Location: Mountain View, California
I would email Fibre-Lyte and ask them directly. Are you going to replace both the inner and outer cage with Fibrelyte parts? Stephen from Fibre Ltye sometimes frequents the forum. But best to ask them directly.

_________________
http://www.hackracer.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1171
Location: UK
Measure the distance between the jockey wheels. Fibre-Lyte states 55mm for the Sram Reds.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 712
I would, but I don't have the RD yet. Want to make sure I get the correct parts before getting them.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 712
Cheers! wrote:
I would email Fibre-Lyte and ask them directly. Are you going to replace both the inner and outer cage with Fibrelyte parts? Stephen from Fibre Ltye sometimes frequents the forum. But best to ask them directly.


Didn't even know they made an outter plate. I have only seen the inner plate.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1171
Location: UK
Just wait till you you get the mech then. Save a lot of trouble.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 712
Yeah, I definitely can, just figured someone on here has done this tune and would know.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1171
Location: UK
Are you talking about Red 22? According to the Sram site there are only 2 options for the RD, the standard and WiFli (long cage). All 3 Fibre-Lyte Red cage options are for the standard cage version (55mm).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 712
I'm talking about the standard Red RD, not 22 or WiFli.

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1171
Location: UK
My previous post applies to Sram Red 2012 as well.

BTW the jockey wheels have 11 teeth.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Northeast USA
I mounted the Fibre-Lyte back plate to current generation 10sp Red and it worked very well. I took off the knob from the fibre-lyte (which was more for the previous generation Red) and then used a dremel to make the back plate look identical to the front.

_________________
My Addict SL : 5235g
My Addict RC: 5490g
My Cycling Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:30 am
Posts: 40
jvanv8 wrote:
I mounted the Fibre-Lyte back plate to current generation 10sp Red and it worked very well. I took off the knob from the fibre-lyte (which was more for the previous generation Red) and then used a dremel to make the back plate look identical to the front.


Any photos of what you did and more info as I'm keen to try to do similar to my red RD?

Cheers baz


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:50 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 712
5 8 5 wrote:
My previous post applies to Sram Red 2012 as well.

BTW the jockey wheels have 11 teeth.



Thanks for the jockey wheels size, but still confused about he derailleur. So the current standard Sram Red RD only comes in a short cage?

_________________
6.24kg CAAD10


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], HillRPete and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. SRAM rear derailleur fine tuning issues

in Road

NiFTY

9

391

Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:58 am

drainyoo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Tuning New SRAM Red Yaw Derailleur and Shifters

in Road

drainyoo

1

728

Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:51 pm

drainyoo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. fibre lyte gear mech plate and jockey wheels

in Road

TomWhite59

13

789

Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:03 pm

BmanX View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Prototype SRAM Red Rear Derailleur?

in Road

caadmium

6

1400

Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:16 pm

caadmium View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. SRAM Red Rear Derailleur, missing B-tension spring? [solved]

in Road

n808

0

265

Fri May 16, 2014 3:18 am

n808 View the latest post


It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:39 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB