Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:02 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 2:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8358
Location: Geelong
Any one else had experience with this? I'm the third person I know of that is experiencing it - and is regardless of magnet position/size and with all varying sizes of gaps between magnet and back of the spider.

I have the 9000 SRM with the older 7800 arms. Also worth noting that the back of the spider is not flat (or 'true') - which I found when getting the magnet as close to the back as possible.

The 'fix', so far, has been removing the crank and running a magnet around the back of the spider - 'waking up' the SRM. This solution has worked for some of the others who have had this issue, but not all.


Head unit wise, tried 810, 800 and 705. Issue present with all. Latest example was changing battery position to the BB mount and even with an additional (larger, supplied by SRM Oceania) magnet at the end of it I could still not get a power reading. The 810 and 800 would recognise the SRM, but not give me a reading. The 705 found it and gave me data for a minute, then dropped it.


This is all on a Giant Trinity. And is doing my head in, as Nationals are less than 3 weeks away. SRM Oceania have been in contact the entire time and deny having any issues with other units.


Also worth noting, my 7900 SRM when transferred to the Trinity, works fine. Without the additional magnet on the BB mounted position.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au
The Gram
The Men of Steel


Top
   
Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 2:15 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 1665
Have you asked on the Wattage forum? You're more likely to get relevant feedback there.

https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... um/wattage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8358
Location: Geelong
Hadn't thought of that. Will do now though. Ta.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au
The Gram
The Men of Steel


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano CS-9000 cassette vs. CS-9100?

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 4 ]

in Road

eaglejackson

50

9162

Sat Apr 15, 2017 5:31 am

James0133 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano Dura Ace 9000 free hub body backward compatibility?

in Road

BeeBee30

3

345

Wed May 17, 2017 7:32 am

petal666 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano 5800/6800/9000 crankset with a Sram 10S setup

in Road

LouisN

4

697

Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:03 pm

saverin View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano Power Meter

in Road

cunn1n9

1

350

Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:48 pm

cycleboyco View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano Dura Ace power meter availability

in Road

bipedzed

6

970

Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:02 am

JackRussellRacing View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 4ibanez, Baidu [Spider], benjaminm3, Mockenrue, pyrahna, RussellS and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited