Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:56 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Belfast
Lucky Me! (I hope)
My brothers bought me a set of Garmin Vector pedals for my Birthday, and I bought a Garmin Edge 500 with my voucher for placing second in a local TT league.
Anyway I installed the Vectors, paired them to the Edge 500, inputted the Vectors' identity number and calibrated the Vectors to the Edge.
So far so good.
I then started a session and for 2 minutes all went reasonably well, then the power readings became very sporadic; jumping from 190 Watts to 400 Watts, and then it would read 0 (and 0 rpm on cadence) before jumping back to a reasonable readout, only to do it again
What is happening - teething problems for a first session or are they a crock of shite?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7896
Location: San Francisco, CA
Likely the pedal torque isn't enough. Did you use a torque wrench?

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Belfast
Good post - My torque wrench would not fit the pedals so I tightened on the cautious side (just tight). I'll try torque-ing to the recommended torque and report back
Thanks
Any more suggestions?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Belfast
Wey Hey!!! 300 posts in 11 years as a WW!
Am I the longest server?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:08 pm
Posts: 195
Yep, torque is key with the Vectors. If it's quite low you can get what you saw. A bit too low or too high and things stable out, but often 20+ watts off.

_________________
VeloNews Magazine/VeloNews.com tech


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:08 pm
Posts: 54
I have had a problem with the cadence dropping out and therefore losing the power reading. I pulled the batteries out of the pods and then it asked to set the installation angles and calibrate again. Since then it has been fine.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:19 pm
Posts: 576
You don't need a torque wrench to install them. Just make sure they are very tight or the readings will be off.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Belfast
Thanks for all the replies - I'll tighten them up (to a reasonable torque)
One more question:
How do Iset the installation angles with the Edge 500 - the Garmin You-Tube video shows it for higher end computers and not for the Edge 500
Thanks


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:12 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1980
Location: NoVA/DC
The one install I did with the 500, it did not ask me for install angles either, even after a firmware update (3.30 is current, I believe). I don't know why yet.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:56 am
Posts: 2673
Location: New Zealand
My G/Fs vectors give weird readings (generally LOW) if the pedals are loose (she did them up with a cone spanner recently .......left my pedal spanner at a mates place). Tightening them fixes it.

_________________
Updated: Racing again! Thought this was unlikely! Eventually, I may even have a decent race!
Edit: 2015: darn near won the best South Island series (got second in age
-group)..woo hoo Racy Theremery is back!!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7896
Location: San Francisco, CA
I haven't tried them yet, although obviously I've got a lot of interest. Limiting factor for me on $$$ right now would be the Look platform, since I like double-sided. But it would be fun to give them a try -- I am curious about L-R, as well as future pedal stroke diagnostics they might have coming.

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:23 pm
Posts: 614
Location: Austin, TX
They're definitely NOT a crock of shite :) Grease the threads and the where the spindle contacts the pods. Torque them down at least to spec. Take the batteries out for 10 full seconds. Do a static calibration. Ride the bike (don't just spin the crank on a stand) and smoothly bring the cadence up to 80 rpm. When power starts to be displayed on the 500 you're angles are set. I haven't had a lick of trouble out of my pedals. You have nice brothers :thumbup:

_________________
My Cervelo R5
My Lynskey Helix
My MTB


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Belfast
I have spent all evening trying to get these pedals sorted
I even bought a new Torque wrench at £80.00
Garmin support were unhelpful as usual
I tightened the pedals I followed the unhelpful firmware update instructions and these pedals continue to go from a reasonable readout to 0
What will I do?
I am not happy


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7896
Location: San Francisco, CA
Enda Marron wrote:
I have spent all evening trying to get these pedals sorted
I even bought a new Torque wrench at £80.00
Garmin support were unhelpful as usual
I tightened the pedals I followed the unhelpful firmware update instructions and these pedals continue to go from a reasonable readout to 0
What will I do?
I am not happy


Send them to me. I'll give them an extensive test and get back to you in a year.

Garmin has a [url=https://forums.garmin.com/forumdisplay.php?424-Vector
]Vector Forum[/url] where you can probably get better help than here.

The usual answers are "incorrect torque" and "insufficient spacers", assuming your crank is a compatible dimension.

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:08 pm
Posts: 54
https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.ph ... -drop-outs

Post number 2. Do that and you should be set.

I change mine from bike to bike all the time and have never tensioned them. Only once has the power/cadence dropped out and all I did was the instructions in that post and it was fixed.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin Vector or Vector S?

in Road

racersir

3

360

Fri May 06, 2016 9:29 pm

helldiver View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. What to buy? Garmin Vector 2 or Powertap PT1

in Road

lotushiast

11

1457

Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:18 pm

mr4fox View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Help: Garmin Vector 2 long term reviews

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

nemeseri

24

1555

Fri Mar 25, 2016 2:27 am

chanthony91 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Look 795 and garmin

in Road

bm0p700f

4

526

Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:52 pm

spdntrxi View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. garmin 810 lcd broke

in Road

grouk

1

451

Sun Aug 16, 2015 9:55 pm

grouk View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Fiery, Gregor and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited