HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Belfast
Lucky Me! (I hope)
My brothers bought me a set of Garmin Vector pedals for my Birthday, and I bought a Garmin Edge 500 with my voucher for placing second in a local TT league.
Anyway I installed the Vectors, paired them to the Edge 500, inputted the Vectors' identity number and calibrated the Vectors to the Edge.
So far so good.
I then started a session and for 2 minutes all went reasonably well, then the power readings became very sporadic; jumping from 190 Watts to 400 Watts, and then it would read 0 (and 0 rpm on cadence) before jumping back to a reasonable readout, only to do it again
What is happening - teething problems for a first session or are they a crock of shite?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7333
Location: San Francisco, CA
Likely the pedal torque isn't enough. Did you use a torque wrench?

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1
\


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:55 pm 


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Belfast
Good post - My torque wrench would not fit the pedals so I tightened on the cautious side (just tight). I'll try torque-ing to the recommended torque and report back
Thanks
Any more suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Belfast
Wey Hey!!! 300 posts in 11 years as a WW!
Am I the longest server?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:08 pm
Posts: 194
Yep, torque is key with the Vectors. If it's quite low you can get what you saw. A bit too low or too high and things stable out, but often 20+ watts off.

_________________
VeloNews Magazine/VeloNews.com tech
Contact always welcome - http://velonews.competitor.com/author/cfretz / cfretz at competitorgroup dot com.
Twitter: @CaleyFretz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:08 pm
Posts: 41
I have had a problem with the cadence dropping out and therefore losing the power reading. I pulled the batteries out of the pods and then it asked to set the installation angles and calibrate again. Since then it has been fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:19 pm
Posts: 550
You don't need a torque wrench to install them. Just make sure they are very tight or the readings will be off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Belfast
Thanks for all the replies - I'll tighten them up (to a reasonable torque)
One more question:
How do Iset the installation angles with the Edge 500 - the Garmin You-Tube video shows it for higher end computers and not for the Edge 500
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:12 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1965
Location: NoVA/DC
The one install I did with the 500, it did not ask me for install angles either, even after a firmware update (3.30 is current, I believe). I don't know why yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:56 am
Posts: 2649
Location: New Zealand
My G/Fs vectors give weird readings (generally LOW) if the pedals are loose (she did them up with a cone spanner recently .......left my pedal spanner at a mates place). Tightening them fixes it.

_________________
Used to race....got too wrinkly and old ;) Updated: Racing again! Thought this was unlikely! Eventually, I may even have a decent race!
Edit: HAD a decent race! 16/08/2014 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7333
Location: San Francisco, CA
I haven't tried them yet, although obviously I've got a lot of interest. Limiting factor for me on $$$ right now would be the Look platform, since I like double-sided. But it would be fun to give them a try -- I am curious about L-R, as well as future pedal stroke diagnostics they might have coming.

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1
\


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:23 pm
Posts: 322
Location: Austin, TX
They're definitely NOT a crock of shite :) Grease the threads and the where the spindle contacts the pods. Torque them down at least to spec. Take the batteries out for 10 full seconds. Do a static calibration. Ride the bike (don't just spin the crank on a stand) and smoothly bring the cadence up to 80 rpm. When power starts to be displayed on the 500 you're angles are set. I haven't had a lick of trouble out of my pedals. You have nice brothers :thumbup:

_________________
My Cervelo R5
My Cervelo S3
My MTB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:03 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Belfast
I have spent all evening trying to get these pedals sorted
I even bought a new Torque wrench at £80.00
Garmin support were unhelpful as usual
I tightened the pedals I followed the unhelpful firmware update instructions and these pedals continue to go from a reasonable readout to 0
What will I do?
I am not happy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7333
Location: San Francisco, CA
Enda Marron wrote:
I have spent all evening trying to get these pedals sorted
I even bought a new Torque wrench at £80.00
Garmin support were unhelpful as usual
I tightened the pedals I followed the unhelpful firmware update instructions and these pedals continue to go from a reasonable readout to 0
What will I do?
I am not happy


Send them to me. I'll give them an extensive test and get back to you in a year.

Garmin has a [url=https://forums.garmin.com/forumdisplay.php?424-Vector
]Vector Forum[/url] where you can probably get better help than here.

The usual answers are "incorrect torque" and "insufficient spacers", assuming your crank is a compatible dimension.

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1
\


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:48 pm 


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Vector Usage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:08 pm
Posts: 41
https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.ph ... -drop-outs

Post number 2. Do that and you should be set.

I change mine from bike to bike all the time and have never tensioned them. Only once has the power/cadence dropped out and all I did was the instructions in that post and it was fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Blake94, Hastur, jb, jwp75, SuperDave and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin Vector Compatability

in Road

Enda Marron

3

622

Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:23 pm

wingguy View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Quarq Elsa weight vs Vector pedals?

in Road

kirstyds77

3

660

Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:35 am

Causidicus View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Powermeter choice - Vector or Rotor power crank

in Road

greenplay

13

2817

Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:35 pm

HammerTime2 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo Power Meter Choice (Vector or Stages with SISL2)

in Road

9x12man

12

1117

Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:24 pm

9x12man View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Which Garmin for my requierment?

in Road

Devon

6

660

Mon Sep 30, 2013 7:06 pm

Sjoerd View the latest post


It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:47 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB