Zipp 202 Firecrest

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Sparks

by Sparks

I would like to know if any one on the forum has experience of this wheel set?

I currently own a set of Enve 6.7's which I really enjoy on flat and rolling terrain but feel a lower profile wheel set would be more beneficial for the short steep climbs near by. Also I find the deep section front of the Enve's a little draining when it's windy.

Any flexing issues or hub problems (I've read there is a new hub for 2014).

Thanks
2013 Pinarello Dogma 65.1
2014 Cannodale SS Evo

carbonLORD
in the industry

by carbonLORD

Why not 3.4 out of curiosity?

I also own 6.7's as well as 3.4's and 2013 Zipp 404's and it's a hard choice some days.

202's are nice from what I've seen but I have no experience on them.
carbonLORD.com

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

asv

by asv

202 tubs are a great climbing wheel but I don't understand the point of the 202 clincher when Enve 3.4s can be built up around the same weight. My 3.4 clinchers with alchemy hubs weigh in at 1420 grams with rim strips.

CharlesM

by CharlesM

They're a damn nice wheel. The new hubs are a good change from past versions (and there are a LOT of past versions in just the last couple years as they made running changes.

They're a 32mm depth front and rear and have damn near no cross wind response... The weights are published.

Maybe the biggest win is at the brake track. If you're talking clinchers, Zipps braking is the best in the carbon clinch class right now. Zero heat issues, very consistent feel.

Sparks

by Sparks

Carbon Lord:

I've not owned a Zipp wheelset and now that they are offering an improved hub I'm keen to give them a try, the aesthetics of the 3.4's don't do it for me this either.

asv: