Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 7:24 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 pm
Posts: 12
I'm toying with the idea of a winter commuter build. I have a 33 mile daily commute so don't want to ride an old clunker, but neither do I want to run Super Record on gritted roads.

One option I've been thinking about is a disc brake equipped bike. There are lots of shimano and SRAM options, but I've failed when searching for Campagnolo compatible solutions. As my other two bikes and 10 wheels are campag, I don't want to change groupsets.

I know Campagnolo are working on disc brakes, but they aren't going to be ready for a couple of years, so is there a tried and tested solution using other mechanical discs with 11 speed shifters?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 474
I am using Avid BB7 SL with Super Record EPS on my cross bike very successfully.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:45 pm 


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 878
Location: UK
Any generic cable operated disk will work, obviously sram/shimano ones are "designed" for thier lever pull ratio, but with a disk brake you don't actually need much of a cable pull to operate successfully.

And no Campag don't make them, but Avid and Hayes do, also I think Tektro, TRP and Ashima might have some.

_________________
"We live in an age when unnecessary things are our only necessities." Oscar Wilde

Pegoretti Responsorium, Parlee Z5i, Donhou Commuter, 1946 MacLeans Featherweight L'Eroica!, 2 'dales SM1000 and Habit SE


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:16 pm 
Offline
Shop Wrench
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:30 am
Posts: 155
Location: Gloucester, UK
As stated above, Avid BB7 will work with Campag Shifters - best value for money vs performance option at the moment!

_________________
www.southwestbikebuilders.co.uk

https://www.facebook.com/pages/South-We ... 4745587802


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4774
Location: Canada
+1. I run Campagnolo for my MTB and use the Avid BB7's. Works great.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:25 am
Posts: 453
Location: Cantabria
Campagnolo with TRP Hy-Rd here and loving it.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 pm
Posts: 12
Good stuff, I'm glad it's doable and there are happy customers.

In terms of wheels, what rear hubs are worth looking at?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 474
I am running Chris King R45 disc hubs with Campagnolo free hub, but DT are also worth considering.

Also of note is that with DT you could do a centre lock/Campagnolo combination, which although unusual might give a best of all worlds solution as (IMHO) centre lock has the edge on 6 bolt in terms of weight, stiffness and ease of use, and centre lock Shimano rotors will work with other brakes.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 pm
Posts: 12
Just to resurrect this thread.

I went with Chris King hubs and TRP HY/RD callipers.

It's not proving to be a great combination. There is far to much lever throw when set up to spec. It means that even when the brake lever is pulled hard against the bar I'm still looking for more power.

Has anyone got any tips on either set up, or a set of callipers that will stop me having to pull the lever right to the bar?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:02 am
Posts: 32
^i had hy/rd, i bled and did everything i could. didn´t got free movement away. best was 160mm->203mm disc change but now running R785 shimanos. hy/rd 2/5

i really wish campagnolo makes eps hydraulic levers, i like campa ergonomics


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:54 pm
Posts: 904
Location: Reading, UK
Guinea wrote:
Just to resurrect this thread.

I went with Chris King hubs and TRP HY/RD callipers.

It's not proving to be a great combination. There is far to much lever throw when set up to spec. It means that even when the brake lever is pulled hard against the bar I'm still looking for more power.

Has anyone got any tips on either set up, or a set of callipers that will stop me having to pull the lever right to the bar?


I have Campag ergos with HY/DRs and have them working quite well. Yes there is a cable pull issue but I have found a workaround. With these brakes you have to clamp the inner cable with the little brake swingarm locked in position. The trick is that when you do this, have the brake release button on the ergo lever set to the brake-open position. When you have clamped the brake inner at the brake, release the brake swingarm then reset the ergo button to brake-closed. This partially pulls in the disc brake pads but not enough to cause rubbing on the disc. Now you should have enough brake power to not have to squeeze the levers to the bar.

The other aspect I have found is that the brakes are sensitive to the housing compressibility. I started with generic housing then upgraded it to Goodridge which is quite heavy duty. This really improved the braking.

There's more about this on p2 of the build thread I did for the disc bike.
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=119840&start=15


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:23 am
Posts: 440
I would also try compressionless brake housing if you haven't. It might be enough to make the brakes work.

Jagwire makes compressionless housing. Not sure who else makes it.
http://jagwire.com/products/v/road_pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 5:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:39 am
Posts: 1549
Location: Canada
Campy are developing hydraulic brakes combined with EPS right now. Maybe its out next year if everything goes well.

_________________
██ MARTINI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks for the replies folks.

Miller, I'm going to try the method you suggested. However, in practice, I think your method is still slightly dodgy as the cable won't release fully on every pull. I can't think why TRP stipulate this should happen though, so I hope it's OK. If that makes enough of an improvement then I'll maybe try the housing too.

Otherwise, I may put the chorus groupset on my spare bike to replace the 10sp on it and go with Shimano R785/Di2. Unless of course anyone knows another disc calliper that has no throw?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:43 pm
Posts: 2886
Guinea wrote:
However, in practice, I think your method is still slightly dodgy as the cable won't release fully on every pull. I can't think why TRP stipulate this should happen though, so I hope it's OK.
Its to reset/refill/top up the hydraulic circuit.
It allows for wear of the pads and heating of the fluid. Not having the piston go back past the port on the actuation side of the unit will lead to (eventually) the brake losing all power.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Campagnolo discs?
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:12 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Hydraulic discs and eTap

in Road

polaris

3

356

Mon Sep 12, 2016 5:02 pm

ergott View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. A braking/breaking dilemma - discs

in Road

djm

10

730

Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:16 pm

CBJ View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Mechanical Discs on CAAD10 / CAAD12 Disc?

in Road

iamalex

7

1074

Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:54 pm

chanrio28 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Bike build advice: progress with or wait for discs?

in Road

Courtly

10

727

Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:48 pm

Courtly View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo Chorus EPS

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

TomColnago

23

1836

Thu Dec 24, 2015 1:47 pm

TomColnago View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Madone69, nickcube, Yahoo [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited