Are Deda Ti bolts always this bad?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

MajorMantra

by MajorMantra

I recently built my bike with a Deda Zero 100 Servizio Corse stem. Standard, good quality allen keys seemed a poor fit in the bolt heads and one of them came close to rounding at around 4Nm.

I'm now on the hunt for nice SS bolts to substitute, but have to say I'm pretty underwhelmed. I've worked on other bikes with Deda stuff and don't remember a particular issue.

Oh, and before anyone impugns my mechanical abilities, know that I'm a shop mechanic and I've built a lot of bikes.

liam7020

by liam7020

Yeah the bolts on that stem really are that bad.
Tarmac SL6 & Campag Record EPS https://weightweenies.starbike.com/foru ... 0&t=153968

"Sometimes you don't need a plan. You just need big balls." Tom Boonen

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

ergott

by ergott

I've had a few and never had a problem. Just adding my data point.

mythical

by mythical

Sure, some bolts are stubborn. Anyway, in all my years with the various Deda products that passed my hands, I never experienced a single bolt failure. When a bolt and tool didn't fit properly, I usually forced the tool into an angle after insertion not to damage the bolt. That always did the trick. My most commonly used tool was a Park Tool Y-wrench. Alternatively, you can fit a Torx T25 into a 4mm Allen bolt and, if it's rounded, perhaps a T27. Didn't I wrench on your Deda as well, Eric?
“I always find it amazing that a material can actually sell a product when it’s really the engineering that creates and dictates how well that material will behave or perform.” — Chuck Teixeira

ergott

by ergott

One of.

RichTheRoadie
Tinker, Taylor, Tart

by RichTheRoadie

Had a bolt on a Deda stem snap recently before it got to 5Nm (yes, I was using a torque wrench!).