HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:31 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Stumptown USA
is this possible? I have a DT mtn hub 135mm and want to use it on my road bike. Can i just take out some spacers or something?

I checked out the DT swiss site and didnt see anything.

thanks for any help

jeremy

_________________
PlusOneLap.com: Everything Cyclocross


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:21 pm 


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 7:33 am
Posts: 2436
Location: Europe
I did this a few years ago, you need to order a spare part that goes on the axle next to the non drive side bearing. The new part is 5mm smaller than the old one and pretty easy to replace. The newer hubs have changed a bit in design since but I think this is still possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 286
Location: Israel
You can swicth the left cap, that is the only diffrence, i done it with 4 of mine dt's (bonty race x lite, asswell)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: The new DT 240S
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 4:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: Valdosta, GA
There was a mid-run design change in the DT 240S last year. DT decided to move the non-drive side flange in 2-3 mm. I know because one set of 240S that I purchased had a wider spacing than another. I called DT, in the U.S., and they explained the mid-run design change and said to send it to them and they would replace it with a newer one.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:56 am
Posts: 4907
jeremyb wrote:
I checked out the DT swiss site and didnt see anything.

The information is in their "DT Swiss 240s TECHNICAL HUB MANUAL" at their website: http://www.dtswiss.com/data/files/MAN_E ... 162428.pdf

I copied the diagrams and marked the parts which are different in the two hub models with yellow:

Image


Attachments:
DT Swiss 240s.PNG
DT Swiss 240s.PNG [ 126.04 KiB | Viewed 997 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 7:33 am
Posts: 2436
Location: Europe
Are you sure you need to replace all those parts? I only did the nr 1 part and it works fine for me :noidea: It is being used with a 9s shimano casette, maybe you only need to replace the body if you want to use it for 10s? I also think the ring nut is steel in the mtb hub for extra strength and you don't nessesarily have to replace it but you can to save some weight, but I'm not sure. As said, only changing part 1 has worked fine for me so far.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:56 am
Posts: 4907
Boonen wrote:
Are you sure you need to replace all those parts? I only did the nr 1 part and it works fine for me :noidea: It is being used with a 9s shimano casette, maybe you only need to replace the body if you want to use it for 10s? I also think the ring nut is steel in the mtb hub for extra strength and you don't nessesarily have to replace it but you can to save some weight, but I'm not sure. As said, only changing part 1 has worked fine for me so far.

I agree, and I never said you have to replace all 3 parts, I just pointed out which parts are different.
The only part you have to change is pos. #1, unless you want to switch to Campagnolo body.
If you use a 10 speed cassette on a 9 speed body, you just have to use a spacer ring on the inside IIRC.
Pos. #5 and pos. #10 are only different to offer more strengt on the MTB version vs. less weight on the road version I guess, but it shouldn't be nessasary to change them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:31 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Stumptown USA
thanks guys!

jeremy

_________________
PlusOneLap.com: Everything Cyclocross


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:02 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:27 am
Posts: 51
I have a set of 135mm dt 180s I got from a MTB.
Does this approach also work for DT Swiss 180 hubs?, ie can I buy the same NDS axle cap end and covert it to 130mm?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alexalecu, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], MSNbot Media, noctilux, Yahoo [Bot] and 52 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:03 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB