HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:37 pm
Posts: 443
Can you use 9000 cables on 6800?

_________________
Aluminum is the new black


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:54 pm 
  • 16.90 € (including 19% VAT)
  • 63 components


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 1:26 am
Posts: 81
I believe they use the same cables

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:13 am
Posts: 2
edit


Last edited by bike on Mon May 26, 2014 12:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 1:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 7471
Location: Geeeelong!
Running 6800 (with an inline adjuster for the FD) and it's genuinely very hard to split the difference between it and 9000 (which I rode all of last year).

Hoods feel just 'slightly' larger with 6800. RD maybe also just a little smoother in shifting.

But really, it's still sensational performance from a second-tier groupset.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au Forum Jedi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 41
santabarbara wrote:
Can you use 9000 cables on 6800?

Polymer Inner Cables are the same:
BC-R680
http://www.bike-components.de/products/ ... -2014.html
http://www.bike-components.de/products/ ... -2014.html
BC-9000
http://www.bike-components.de/products/ ... -9000.html
http://www.bike-components.de/products/ ... -9000.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:10 am
Posts: 36
Surprised by the negative comments here on Ultegra durability. I have a bike with 2005 6600 with many, many thousands of miles on it that works perfectly. It has outlasted two frames already, the finish on all the parts still looks new (I use a little Pledge every once in a while, works wonders).

If your shifters start getting a little balky, spray a bunch of wd40 or mineral spirts in them, let it drip and then relube with Prolink. This is messy, do it outside. I do that about twice a year. Also, I have to say that in my experience 6600 works better than the 6700 on my wife's bike.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:51 am
Posts: 45
hiro11 wrote:
Also, I have to say that in my experience 6600 works better than the 6700 on my wife's bike.


The 6600 on my cx bike DEFINITELY works better than the 6700 on my road bike, and the 6600 is typically coated with dirt/mud.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 1:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:55 am
Posts: 466
Location: Vladivostok
DA9000 on my TCR still shifting flawlessly after a year of pretty hefty ks. Tho in saying that, my 7900 was pretty spot on for years without dramas too.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B using Tapatalk

_________________
KWalker wrote:
chill out perv dogs, homegirl is still only 17.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 2:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:20 am
Posts: 125
In regards to the cable snapping issues I had 9000 cables installed on my 5700 group for 6 months / 4500 miles. I saw a thread like this on another forum and decided to inspect the cables. I peeled the hoods back and my RD cable was badly frayed. The FD cable looked new but I don't do much front shifting. I had my shop install the older PTFE cables and SP41 housings. I miss the light shift action of the polymer coating. The PTFE cables easily take twice as much effort to downshift the RD. This leads me to believe 80-90% of the improvement in shift quality on 6800/9000 comes dowwn to the polymer coated cables. I'm not in a big hurry to upgrade to 6800 anymore until Shimano fixes the polymer cables.

Here's a pic of the RD cable (it's Google+ so I hope it shows.)

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FourthWall, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], JLFast, soracabana, Yahoo [Bot], youngs_modulus and 51 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Can Shimano RD-9000 work with Ultegra CS-6800 32T cassette?

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Road

mpower

42

3691

Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:30 pm

chanthony View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo 11 Shifter/Shimano 6800/9000 Front Derailleur

in Road

dudemanppl

2

410

Thu May 08, 2014 10:50 pm

dudemanppl View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Shifter Issue (& 6800 cassette moan)

in Road

dynaserve

7

1807

Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:46 pm

n808 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 9000 and 6800 compatibility

in Road

myndog

4

781

Mon May 05, 2014 3:34 am

petal666 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano 6800 chain set compatible with 6700 group?

in Road

alastairb

8

723

Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:00 am

alastairb View the latest post


It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:29 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB