Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Wed Jul 27, 2016 8:34 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 481 posts ]  Go to page Previous 129 30 31 32 33 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 6:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 14
Hi solarider,

Can you confirm old DTI will work with V2 battery, just losing diagnostics? May make the upgrade less bitter to swallow for me. Would do it in two steps then... :-)

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 6:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 464
Confirmed. Works absolutely perfectly. Been running it for 4 months now.

I have a newer V2 complete group set on one of the bikes, and I can't notice any difference whatsoever.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 14
solarider wrote:
Confirmed. Works absolutely perfectly. Been running it for 4 months now.

I have a newer V2 complete group set on one of the bikes, and I can't notice any difference whatsoever.



Thanks Solarider,

as you seem to know your way around EPS please allow me one more question.

Did my first ride today on the system. After 20km it was over. Something malfunctioned with front derailleur (which until then was working flawlessly). It dropped into closest position to frame and wouldn't move from there. Motor seemed to get quite warm for a few minutes. Would not react to inputs. When going into adjustment mode (purple light) I could move the derailleur up to the big chainring and back. On first shift it would return straight back to lowest position.

At home I now zeroed it again and re-taught positions and it seems to be working now again.

Any idea where this problem can come from?

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:52 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner / Manufacturer

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:21 pm
Posts: 170
Location: UK
Contrary to the possible implication in the post by Solarider, not *all* versions of the Interface will work correctly with the v2 PU.

Some of the very early Interfaces (DTI) don't work correctly with v2 firmware.

The reverse is also true - some IF14 (the current version) Interfaces will not work correctly with older v1 PUs.

There are some firmware differences that end-users won't necessarily see or be aware of between v1 produced in the first commercial releases and later releases, and in v2. Whilst in general the firmware degrades gracefully and combinations will work as well as the oldest component in the system, there are a very limited number of exceptions.

We recommend that queries are forwarded to the Service Centre in your market for completely authoritative comment / advice - EPS components are expensive and obviously Campagnolo would prefer that they were not bought and then found to be be problematic in combination with other parts!

HTH
Graeme
Velotech Cycling Ltd
Campagnolo main SC, UK

_________________
A Tech-Reps work is never done ...
Head Tech, Campagnolo main UK ASC


Last edited by graeme_f_k on Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:57 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner / Manufacturer

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:21 pm
Posts: 170
Location: UK
tovarin wrote:
solarider wrote:
Confirmed. Works absolutely perfectly. Been running it for 4 months now.

I have a newer V2 complete group set on one of the bikes, and I can't notice any difference whatsoever.



Thanks Solarider,

as you seem to know your way around EPS please allow me one more question.

Did my first ride today on the system. After 20km it was over. Something malfunctioned with front derailleur (which until then was working flawlessly). It dropped into closest position to frame and wouldn't move from there. Motor seemed to get quite warm for a few minutes. Would not react to inputs. When going into adjustment mode (purple light) I could move the derailleur up to the big chainring and back. On first shift it would return straight back to lowest position.

At home I now zeroed it again and re-taught positions and it seems to be working now again.

Any idea where this problem can come from?

Thanks!


If you can send us the serial numbers of the PU and the Interface we can check this for you. Also helpful would be the information on the white tags that are attached to the Interface cable on the PU.

Graeme
Velotech Cycling Ltd
Main UK Campagnolo SC

_________________
A Tech-Reps work is never done ...
Head Tech, Campagnolo main UK ASC


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 3:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 464
Go with Graeme's advice.

Armchair internet 'experts' like me are no replacement for proper experts like Graeme. I might have just been lucky, but mine works perfectly, and it was one of the first production versions of EPS.

I think it is a shame that Shimano Di2 is marketed as being appropriate for the home mechanic when Campagnolo insist on the professional route. In many ways EPS is simpler than mechanical shifting to work on, but I guess it is still in its very early stages relatively speaking and Campagnolo want to track user problems and build fixes into later releases and they can't do that if their certified mechanics never see the faults themselves.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:20 pm
Posts: 226
Location: Northwest Iowa
Looks like a nice weight savings with Chorus over Ultegra 6800 and for not a whole heck of a lot more money.

http://velonews.competitor.com/2014/08/ ... ups_339310

_________________
Cervelo S5


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:20 pm
Posts: 226
Location: Northwest Iowa
to save the pain of clicking the link:

Super Record weights and pricing
Complete group weight: 1,660-1,701g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $3,095 (price may vary)

Record weights
Complete group weight: 1,758-1,800g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $2,409 (price may vary)

Chorus weights
Complete group weight: 1,853-1,870g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $1,614 (price may vary)

Ultegra 6800
Complete group weight: 2,021-2,101g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $1,250

_________________
Cervelo S5


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:38 pm
Posts: 1574
Location: Welland, Ontario
Elsewhere I was told to expect that 2015 groupset prices would be similar to 2014. Which on my favorite retailers site are:

SR $1833
R $1122
Ch $1045
DA $1344
Ult $665

_________________
There's sometimes a buggy.
How many drivers does a buggy have?

One.

So let's just say I'm drivin' this buggy...
and if you fix your attitude you can ride along with me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GekiIMh4ZkM


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 3:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:54 pm
Posts: 836
Location: Reading, UK
Just picking up on old thread, but for 2015 I'll be dipping my toe into press-fit BBs and EPS.

Specifically, BB86. So I just bought some Campag 86.5x41 cups and I find that they're marked EPS and have a flange for attaching a plastic cable protector that is supplied with the EPS battery, as photo below. Seems like a well thought out idea, have the press-fit cups always been like this?

Also, are people still recommending Loctite to assist fixing of the cups? The cups are metal and the frame has a metal insert in the BB. I like the idea of the BB being silent but I would also like to think that whatever is pressed into the frame could also be removed at a later date.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 4:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:39 am
Posts: 1543
Location: Canada
That plastic sleeve is used to protect the EPS cables from rubbing on the crankset shaft. If you are installing EPS groupset you will have to install it. With mechanical you don't need it.

For the loctite, it is always recommended to use. Depending on the tolerances of the bb, some will use more or less and also medium to strong hold. Some bb are so bad that my mechanic had to use a bit of epoxy because the cups would not hold.
If your bb is fine, I think a low to medium strenght loctite should be fine. You won't have problems taking them off later on.

_________________
██ MARTINI


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:52 am
Posts: 640
GREAT to see Campa updated the press fit cups. The extended surface will help keep them in BB :thumbup:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 5:53 pm
Posts: 848
Location: Expat in Washington DC
Wingnut wrote:
I'd like to see their individual hubs back with choices other than 32 hole...



Will never happen as it eats into sales of their wheel sets....


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 5:59 am
Posts: 139
An Interesting observation.

In 2013 i purchased a Super Record groupset and all the boxes said 'made in italy' apart from the cranks which said 'made in Romania'

Last week i just a got a new 2015 Super Record groupset and noticed that all the boxes now say 'designed in italy' and under that it says 'made in italia', even the cranks now say 'made in italia' this time round?

Does anyone have any information as to why this has changed from the cranks being made in Romania to going back being made in Italy? I'm not complaining, i think it's great, but curious as to why this might be. Do they start production in italy and once they have it perfected move machinery and production to Romania for later manufactured cranks?

Anyone have any info?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 7:10 pm
Posts: 503
ferrarista wrote:
That plastic sleeve is used to protect the EPS cables from rubbing on the crankset shaft. If you are installing EPS groupset you will have to install it. With mechanical you don't need it.

For the loctite, it is always recommended to use. Depending on the tolerances of the bb, some will use more or less and also medium to strong hold. Some bb are so bad that my mechanic had to use a bit of epoxy because the cups would not hold.
If your bb is fine, I think a low to medium strenght loctite should be fine. You won't have problems taking them off later on.


Slightly off topic perhaps, but do you mind giving the exact Loctite you would use to start off, assuming a high end frame. I have used thread lock before but nothing more exotic !


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 481 posts ]  Go to page Previous 129 30 31 32 33 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo SR/Record/Chorus 2014 shifters & pre-2014 crankset: experiences?

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

neeb

18

1091

Mon Jul 11, 2016 1:03 am

neeb View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Cervelo 2014 R2 seatpost size

in Road

mikemon

1

206

Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:20 am

AZR3 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Help me - Component Upgrade on 2014 Cervelo R3

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 ]

in Road

rhyshan

35

2254

Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:54 am

rhyshan View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Noob - weight loss 2014 SuperSix Evo non hi-mod :(

in Road

Vikingpower

2

340

Tue May 31, 2016 6:51 pm

Vikingpower View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Cervelo R5 2014 to a S-works Tarmac disc?

in Road

Naturel

7

515

Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:38 pm

Ravnsnaes View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited