2014 Campagnolo groups?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
tovarin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:15 pm

by tovarin

Hi solarider,

Can you confirm old DTI will work with V2 battery, just losing diagnostics? May make the upgrade less bitter to swallow for me. Would do it in two steps then... :-)

Thanks!

solarider
Posts: 492
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:08 pm

by solarider

Confirmed. Works absolutely perfectly. Been running it for 4 months now.

I have a newer V2 complete group set on one of the bikes, and I can't notice any difference whatsoever.

by Weenie


tovarin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:15 pm

by tovarin

solarider wrote:Confirmed. Works absolutely perfectly. Been running it for 4 months now.

I have a newer V2 complete group set on one of the bikes, and I can't notice any difference whatsoever.



Thanks Solarider,

as you seem to know your way around EPS please allow me one more question.

Did my first ride today on the system. After 20km it was over. Something malfunctioned with front derailleur (which until then was working flawlessly). It dropped into closest position to frame and wouldn't move from there. Motor seemed to get quite warm for a few minutes. Would not react to inputs. When going into adjustment mode (purple light) I could move the derailleur up to the big chainring and back. On first shift it would return straight back to lowest position.

At home I now zeroed it again and re-taught positions and it seems to be working now again.

Any idea where this problem can come from?

Thanks!

graeme_f_k
Shop Owner / Manufacturer
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

by graeme_f_k

Contrary to the possible implication in the post by Solarider, not *all* versions of the Interface will work correctly with the v2 PU.

Some of the very early Interfaces (DTI) don't work correctly with v2 firmware.

The reverse is also true - some IF14 (the current version) Interfaces will not work correctly with older v1 PUs.

There are some firmware differences that end-users won't necessarily see or be aware of between v1 produced in the first commercial releases and later releases, and in v2. Whilst in general the firmware degrades gracefully and combinations will work as well as the oldest component in the system, there are a very limited number of exceptions.

We recommend that queries are forwarded to the Service Centre in your market for completely authoritative comment / advice - EPS components are expensive and obviously Campagnolo would prefer that they were not bought and then found to be be problematic in combination with other parts!

HTH
Graeme
Velotech Cycling Ltd
Campagnolo main SC, UK
Last edited by graeme_f_k on Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A Tech-Reps work is never done ...
Head Tech, Campagnolo main UK ASC

graeme_f_k
Shop Owner / Manufacturer
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

by graeme_f_k

tovarin wrote:
solarider wrote:Confirmed. Works absolutely perfectly. Been running it for 4 months now.

I have a newer V2 complete group set on one of the bikes, and I can't notice any difference whatsoever.



Thanks Solarider,

as you seem to know your way around EPS please allow me one more question.

Did my first ride today on the system. After 20km it was over. Something malfunctioned with front derailleur (which until then was working flawlessly). It dropped into closest position to frame and wouldn't move from there. Motor seemed to get quite warm for a few minutes. Would not react to inputs. When going into adjustment mode (purple light) I could move the derailleur up to the big chainring and back. On first shift it would return straight back to lowest position.

At home I now zeroed it again and re-taught positions and it seems to be working now again.

Any idea where this problem can come from?

Thanks!


If you can send us the serial numbers of the PU and the Interface we can check this for you. Also helpful would be the information on the white tags that are attached to the Interface cable on the PU.

Graeme
Velotech Cycling Ltd
Main UK Campagnolo SC
A Tech-Reps work is never done ...
Head Tech, Campagnolo main UK ASC

solarider
Posts: 492
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:08 pm

by solarider

Go with Graeme's advice.

Armchair internet 'experts' like me are no replacement for proper experts like Graeme. I might have just been lucky, but mine works perfectly, and it was one of the first production versions of EPS.

I think it is a shame that Shimano Di2 is marketed as being appropriate for the home mechanic when Campagnolo insist on the professional route. In many ways EPS is simpler than mechanical shifting to work on, but I guess it is still in its very early stages relatively speaking and Campagnolo want to track user problems and build fixes into later releases and they can't do that if their certified mechanics never see the faults themselves.

nd2rc
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:20 pm
Location: Tennessee

by nd2rc

Looks like a nice weight savings with Chorus over Ultegra 6800 and for not a whole heck of a lot more money.

http://velonews.competitor.com/2014/08/ ... ups_339310

nd2rc
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:20 pm
Location: Tennessee

by nd2rc

to save the pain of clicking the link:

Super Record weights and pricing
Complete group weight: 1,660-1,701g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $3,095 (price may vary)

Record weights
Complete group weight: 1,758-1,800g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $2,409 (price may vary)

Chorus weights
Complete group weight: 1,853-1,870g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $1,614 (price may vary)

Ultegra 6800
Complete group weight: 2,021-2,101g (not including chain)
Complete group price: $1,250

User avatar
bikerjulio
Posts: 1901
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:38 pm
Location: Welland, Ontario

by bikerjulio

Elsewhere I was told to expect that 2015 groupset prices would be similar to 2014. Which on my favorite retailers site are:

SR $1833
R $1122
Ch $1045
DA $1344
Ult $665
There's sometimes a buggy.
How many drivers does a buggy have?

One.

So let's just say I'm drivin' this buggy...
and if you fix your attitude you can ride along with me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GekiIMh4ZkM

User avatar
Miller
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:54 pm
Location: Reading, UK

by Miller

Just picking up on old thread, but for 2015 I'll be dipping my toe into press-fit BBs and EPS.

Specifically, BB86. So I just bought some Campag 86.5x41 cups and I find that they're marked EPS and have a flange for attaching a plastic cable protector that is supplied with the EPS battery, as photo below. Seems like a well thought out idea, have the press-fit cups always been like this?

Also, are people still recommending Loctite to assist fixing of the cups? The cups are metal and the frame has a metal insert in the BB. I like the idea of the BB being silent but I would also like to think that whatever is pressed into the frame could also be removed at a later date.

Image

User avatar
ferrarista
Posts: 1666
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:39 am
Location: Canada

by ferrarista

That plastic sleeve is used to protect the EPS cables from rubbing on the crankset shaft. If you are installing EPS groupset you will have to install it. With mechanical you don't need it.

For the loctite, it is always recommended to use. Depending on the tolerances of the bb, some will use more or less and also medium to strong hold. Some bb are so bad that my mechanic had to use a bit of epoxy because the cups would not hold.
If your bb is fine, I think a low to medium strenght loctite should be fine. You won't have problems taking them off later on.
██

Permon
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:52 am

by Permon

GREAT to see Campa updated the press fit cups. The extended surface will help keep them in BB :thumbup:

User avatar
corky
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: The Surrey Hills

by corky

Wingnut wrote:I'd like to see their individual hubs back with choices other than 32 hole...



Will never happen as it eats into sales of their wheel sets....

tids0009
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 5:59 am

by tids0009

An Interesting observation.

In 2013 i purchased a Super Record groupset and all the boxes said 'made in italy' apart from the cranks which said 'made in Romania'

Last week i just a got a new 2015 Super Record groupset and noticed that all the boxes now say 'designed in italy' and under that it says 'made in italia', even the cranks now say 'made in italia' this time round?

Does anyone have any information as to why this has changed from the cranks being made in Romania to going back being made in Italy? I'm not complaining, i think it's great, but curious as to why this might be. Do they start production in italy and once they have it perfected move machinery and production to Romania for later manufactured cranks?

Anyone have any info?

ghisallo2003
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 7:10 pm

by ghisallo2003

ferrarista wrote:That plastic sleeve is used to protect the EPS cables from rubbing on the crankset shaft. If you are installing EPS groupset you will have to install it. With mechanical you don't need it.

For the loctite, it is always recommended to use. Depending on the tolerances of the bb, some will use more or less and also medium to strong hold. Some bb are so bad that my mechanic had to use a bit of epoxy because the cups would not hold.
If your bb is fine, I think a low to medium strenght loctite should be fine. You won't have problems taking them off later on.


Slightly off topic perhaps, but do you mind giving the exact Loctite you would use to start off, assuming a high end frame. I have used thread lock before but nothing more exotic !

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post