HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About

Go to page 1, 2  Next
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:48 pm 

Hi All,

Any ideas on this greatly appreciated, Im at the end of my tether!

So Ive got a full DA9000 mechanical groupset,only thing non standard is a Hope Ceramic BB which Im told should be fine.

I work in the trade so our workshop mechanic has set this up AND Shimano tech took a look and told me everything was ok AND in the work stand it shifts and works like a charm.

The problem is when I get out and ride it the front mech rubs on the large chain ring in a 2 or 3 gears, somewhere in the middle of the block and it doesnt do it in the workstand. The middle ring works perfectly and always has done.

Ive got a barrel adjuster fitted which Im told is the way forward (read on this forum)even though the Shimano guys(I saw them at an event) told me to remove it.

I can cure the problem while riding by pushing the shifter a little more to move the mech out a little but obviously I dont want to ride along all day doing this!

Any ideas?

Im happy to put a DA 9000 BB in if needed.

Many thanks

Andy

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:26 pm 

Adjust the h limit screw?
Adjust cable tension?
Mech cage bent?
Frame flexing?
Crank flexing?
Chainring flexing?
Chainring bolts loose?

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:26 pm 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:48 pm 

Not the bolts or the rings and I thought it could be the cranks and tightened them up but still suspicious of the BB, given this only happens under load and not in the workstand.

Limit screws seem fine and I dont think it can be bent. The cable tension obviously is potentially the issue but 2 "good" mechanics have looked at it - half the problem is that its only me who has felt the rubbing because in the workstand its ok!