HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:40 am
Posts: 249
I have 2012 Rose Carbon Pro RS
So today I got it built, beautiful. Very happy with the end result. Great frame, stiff, fast, really smooth ride and the Ultegra DI2 is just flawless. I really love it. The only thing is that my LBS couldn't insert the DI2 cables into the frame and this frame takes Ultegra DI2
Check this link http://www.rosebikes.co.uk/article/rose-carbon-pro-rs-3100-compact/aid:529168
so it is all external right now which is not good. This frame built to take it internally. I'm checking what's the catch here. If anyone knows I would love to her your advice.
Here some pictures

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image


---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?lto4dc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:43 pm
Posts: 10
I just built a Colnago Di2 C59. Wouldn't you know it the holes weren't big enough, I just used a small Dremel sanding head part or whatever you call it and made the hole's bigger, I'm sure you LBS have done/can do it if your not comfortable sanding a brand new carbon frame.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:53 pm 
  • 4.90 € (including 19% VAT)
  • 82 components


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:40 am
Posts: 249
frankq wrote:
I just built a Colnago Di2 C59. Wouldn't you know it the holes weren't big enough, I just used a small Dremel sanding head part or whatever you call it and made the hole's bigger, I'm sure you LBS have done/can do it if your not comfortable sanding a brand new carbon frame.

but it doesn't make any sense because this same exact frame taking DI2. As I show in the link I have attached. (the Rose Model 3100) is exactly the same frame I have. So why do I need to change the holes or to assume they are not big enough?


---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?1jpls4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:40 am
Posts: 249
Here are few more pictures on the cables close up
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:42 pm
Posts: 16
There are 2 wiring harness' 1 for external(which you probably have) and 1 for internal

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-dura-ace-9070ultegra-6770-di2-frame-cable-set/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=base&utm_campaign=uk&utm_content=Shimano-Shimano_Dura_Ace_9070%2fUltegra_6770_Di2_Frame_Cable_Set-Black

Probally not what you wanted to hear but I hope that helps

Bike looks cool just put the saddle level!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:48 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1955
Location: NoVA/DC
With the old dura ace di2, there were distinct wire kits for internal, external, and everything in between. For ultegra di2, everything is in pieces, with only the junction box being clearly for either internal or external. You have the internal one. I cannot see what the hold up is, there must be some housing stop or cable liner in the holes keeping the plug ends from fitting.
What measurement are you getting for the frame hole sizes?
Edit:
What is the silver ring inside the right cable housing stop at the top of the down tube? Im assuming the mechanical cables are bare inside the frame, correct?


Last edited by thisisatest on Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:58 pm
Posts: 155
One other thing I noticed was there is no provision for any cable to exit the frame for the front DR.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 6:48 am
Posts: 1146
Location: Central USA
Ouch - all those wires taped here and there - that hurts to look at.

I must ask - what is a "Rose" - is it an open mold Tawain frame.....if so then I wouldn't be surprised by a lax of QC. And also wouldn't be surprised by lack of incentive by a shop to make it perfect......

Anyways, frame builder vs shop that built it - someone needs to step up with a solution versus all that tape and looped wire - but hope all you require is the internal wiring kit :D


Last edited by tommasini on Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 142
Do some brands have two versions of the same model? While the main photo in the link shows Ultegra with internal routing, the inset photo shows normal cable housing...so maybe Rose has two versions.

Either that or you have to remove something in the cable stops.

As previously mentioned there are no "internal" or "external" wiring kits for Ultegra Di2 and the new (e-tube) wiring system, just the internal and external junction box. The wiring is universal for internal and external. You just buy different lengths and the correct junction box.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 6:43 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Canada
Yikes that's quite the ugly wire job.

Are you sure the don't have "identical" di2 and a separate mechanical frame with the same paint job...

It just looks like a catalog frame to me so perhaps the use the same mould with different setups...

_________________
Flickr
Tarmac SL3 Project Yellow
Follow on Instagram


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:52 am
Posts: 259
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Have you tried contacting Rose directly? I have used their webshop (but only for a few small parts: not complete bike) several times, and they seem like a VERY serious dealer, I would be VERY surprised if they wouldn't be able to help: Their service have always been fine with me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:40 am
Posts: 249
thisisatest wrote:
With the old dura ace di2, there were distinct wire kits for internal, external, and everything in between. For ultegra di2, everything is in pieces, with only the junction box being clearly for either internal or external. You have the internal one. I cannot see what the hold up is, there must be some housing stop or cable liner in the holes keeping the plug ends from fitting.
What measurement are you getting for the frame hole sizes?
Edit:
What is the silver ring inside the right cable housing stop at the top of the down tube? Im assuming the mechanical cables are bare inside the frame, correct?

the mechanical cables are only for the brakes and its running inside, if I understand you correctly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 8:32 pm
Posts: 1259
Location: the Netherlands
first of all take another mechanic, the built looks crap and even with the cables outside it can look good (but never with so many miles of electric tape).
Don't know where the catch with this frame is but so far I succeeded in making every frame suitable for internal routing (but sometimes drilling is nescesary, but no problems whatsoever with reliablilty).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:26 am
Posts: 34
What is that Garmin mount?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:40 am
Posts: 249
sharkman wrote:
first of all take another mechanic, the built looks crap and even with the cables outside it can look good (but never with so many miles of electric tape).
Don't know where the catch with this frame is but so far I succeeded in making every frame suitable for internal routing (but sometimes drilling is nescesary, but no problems whatsoever with reliablilty).

how is the drilling, is it dangerous for the frame?

Also anyone knows if the internal junction box of the Ultegra DI2 is waterproof like the external box?


---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?iginj5


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:05 am 
  • 4.90 € (including 19% VAT)
  • 82 components


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bikewithnoname, Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], frohrider, Google Adsense [Bot], LionelB, VamP and 96 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Scott Foil Internal Di2 Routing, Internal Battery Questions

in Road

Zigmeister

5

1224

Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:35 pm

Zigmeister View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. handlebar internal cable routing - rattle?

in Road

PoorCyclist

4

257

Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:40 am

11.4 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. friction problems with internal brake routing

in Road

dmp

3

320

Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:16 pm

dmp View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Running new cables on SuperSix Evo - Internal?

in Road

G6612

2

552

Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:42 pm

G6612 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. internal eps inside a non eps.frame. splicing wires

in Road

mike

6

785

Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:19 pm

Butcher View the latest post


It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:55 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB