HED c2 v.s. Mavic open pro

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Kevin3182

by Kevin3182

looking to build up some handbuilts on alchemy ELF/ORC hubs. Would you all go with a mavic open pro or HED c2 clincher rim? I feel like people will lean toward the c2, but why? Ill be using them for everything from rainy rides to gravel to racing. Also will the alchemy hubs hold up to this use? and what spokes would yall go for? im new to the handbuilt wheel game so any advice is much appreciated.
Since that was a lot a questions... a recap!
1. Mavic open pro vs HED c2 clincher and why?
2. Will Alchemy elf/orc hubs hold up to everyday use (ie. gravel, rain, racing)
3. What spokes would you use?
Thanks!

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

ergott

by ergott

1) The C2 rim is much better made. High, quality and won't click.
2) Yes
3) More info appreciated. With the C2 rims you aren't locked into 32 spoke count. How heavy are you?

Kevin3182

by Kevin3182

ah yes, i range between 170-180 lbs, so Im thinking 24 front 28 back? :noidea:

elSid

by elSid

I have the C2 tubulars built into a powertap wheelset, built 32/28 f/r with 14g non-butted spokes, as recommended by the lbs that built them.

I also have a tubular set built with Mavic's reflex rims, which are comparable to the openpro. My bikeshop said that these are a bit weaker than the Hed rims, and suggested 36/36 3x all around, again with 14g spokes.

I am not a wheelbuilder, but my LBS has a good reputation, so I trust their opinion. Since I weight 145-150 pounds, I would think 28/24 would not be strong enough for a 170-180lb rider

SDP

by SDP

36s ! ...must have no faith in wheelbuilding ability...at your size..28s....

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk 2

54x11

by 54x11