Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Wed Jun 29, 2016 5:33 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 12:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:21 pm
Posts: 166
Location: London, UK
paulm2322 wrote:
I do support my LBS, however if I can save £100 on an item that my LBS cannot price match, why would I waste my hard earned money?


How about supporting fellow WWers? aerozy has a DA9000 crank for sale viewtopic.php?f=5&t=117475


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:19 am
Posts: 728
Location: Brisbane, Oz
TrekUk wrote:
why not support your LBS rather than these online snakes that are destroying LBS for everyone.
You do realise this forum is hosted by an online store?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 6:59 pm
Posts: 65
Location: Liverpool, UK.
I have just been to my LBS - who will price match. However, they have explained in layman's terms that this is not compatible with my current set up. I'm not prepared to spend £££'s on a whole new set up. I just wanted to change the front chain set to DA9000. I will have to search for a chain set that will be 10 speed/Ultegra Di2 compatible.

_________________
You can't 'out train' a bad diet : )


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:01 pm
Posts: 1682
You can run a DA9000 crank with 10 speed, no problem. If they told you otherwise... they are full of it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 6:59 pm
Posts: 65
Location: Liverpool, UK.
Briscoelab wrote:
You can run a DA9000 crank with 10 speed, no problem. If they told you otherwise... they are full of it.


Can you back this up with evidence? I really want this crank but don't want to buy it only for it not to be compatible.

Cheers

_________________
You can't 'out train' a bad diet : )


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:01 pm
Posts: 1682
I and 3 others I know are doing just that.

It's just a crankset... it will work.

Also, 10 speed cranksets will work just fine on 11 speed as well. There isn't enough of a difference in the chainring spacing to have any effect on shifting. Now, if you were trying to put an 8 speed crank on there....


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 68
I also can confirm you can use any chainset with the Di2. i have used the new sram red c/set and also built one with campag s/r.
and also fsa k light and rotor cranks.
hope this helps.
cyman.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:37 am
Posts: 128
paulm2322 wrote:
Briscoelab wrote:
You can run a DA9000 crank with 10 speed, no problem. If they told you otherwise... they are full of it.


Can you back this up with evidence? I really want this crank but don't want to buy it only for it not to be compatible.

Cheers


It's not officially supported by Shimano, but a number of people seem to be doing it. Some say it works best with the new narrower 11 speed chain.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:37 am
Posts: 128
What options are there for using 10 speed wheels with 11 speed Di2? Is there a magic "I'm in 10 speed mode" button so I can switch between a 10 speed & 11 speed wheelset quickly & easily?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:19 am
Posts: 728
Location: Brisbane, Oz
nickl wrote:
Some say it works best with the new narrower 11 speed chain.
Isn't the internal width the same?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:37 am
Posts: 128
petal666 wrote:
nickl wrote:
Some say it works best with the new narrower 11 speed chain.
Isn't the internal width the same?


Yes, I believe so. But the connecting plates (is there a name for them?) are thinner, so the chain itself is thinner to fit the narrower 11 speed cassette spacing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:19 am
Posts: 728
Location: Brisbane, Oz
So it would make no difference on the front rings.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:17 pm
Posts: 62
nickl wrote:
What options are there for using 10 speed wheels with 11 speed Di2? Is there a magic "I'm in 10 speed mode" button so I can switch between a 10 speed & 11 speed wheelset quickly & easily?

No unfortunately there is no software option (yet) to change that. However you can use 11speed cassette and remove one cog. So spacing between cogs is correct.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 1:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 3:13 pm
Posts: 621
Location: Netherlands
Dura Ace Di2 10-speed (7970) still functions without a front derailleur (just checked to be sure).
Does the same apply to e-tube Di2? (Ultegra 6770 and 6870, Dura Ace 9070)

_________________
my plastic bikes, 29ers & stable of old steel


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 27
Location: Seattle, Washington
Gazelleer wrote:
Dura Ace Di2 10-speed (7970) still functions without a front derailleur (just checked to be sure).
Does the same apply to e-tube Di2? (Ultegra 6770 and 6870, Dura Ace 9070)



Yes, you can disconnect the wire, same as 7970, but I must ask, why?
I am troubleshooting a battery drain problem on my 9070 Di2 & have disconnected my rear derailleur wire, cycling the front derailleur & vice versa.

_________________
We're talking about flying down a mountain with just a bit of carbon and two skinny tires between ass and asphalt................

2010 S Works SL3 Tarmac, 9070 Di2, Hutchinson RT1 Carbon Tubeless
2010 S Works Epic, Sram XX, Carbon Roval Control SL


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Brake squeal slowing down from higher speed, but works fine with slower speed.

in Road

stockae92

2

125

Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:40 pm

Calnago View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 11 speed Dura ace Di2 shifters compatible with 11 speed Ulte

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

jorisee01

26

1369

Fri Nov 06, 2015 4:42 pm

SuperDave View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Do 10 speed di2 levers work with 11 speed derailleurs?

in Road

520 Dan

9

663

Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:18 pm

Ritxis View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 10 speed chainrings, 11 speed chain

in Road

tinchy

5

641

Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:04 pm

salesguy View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 11 speed wheelset on 10 speed bike

in Road

lovemydales

3

463

Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:47 pm

964Cup View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 2lo8, Benno, bfno, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Grinley, johnnypedals, mind riot, Stuartclark1977 and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited