HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:01 pm
Posts: 1
I am considering buying a (used) SRM with rotor crank arms. My position is dailed in but I am thinking about trying some different crank lengths this season. Therefore, does anyone know if the crank arms used on the rotor 3D SRM are any different from the ordinary rotor 3D arms?

If they are identical it would allow me to change the crank for a different length (as described in other threads). It would be similar to for example a power2max where the powermeter is simply the spider part of the crank. However, the dura-ace SRM crank arms are different from the ordinary dura-ace arms, and are thus not easily swapped. Of course the swapping procedure is similar but it would mean crank arms are only being sold via SRM, which makes it very costly.

I suppose the SRM rotor crank arms have several extra holes drilled in them to bolt them to the SRM spider, but I need to know for sure. Can I buy an ordinary rotor 3d crank and use this for an SRM?


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:09 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 5:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 86
Just saw this post. I'm sure you found the answer already - but for anyone else - the Rotor crank arms used for the 3D SRM are specially machined for the SRM unit. So no, you can't just swap in standard ones. (The NDS arm is standard).

If you have a 3D+ version though, I believe it's a straight swap of arms from a standard road crankset.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp
Web: http://637daystogo.blogspot.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 1474
Image

Here is a SRM Rotor 3D, it is NOT standart mount from Rotor


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

_________________
See My Bike & Tillquist's Kitchen !

Looking for a Garmin Edge Out-Front mount, click here !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4520
Location: Canada
As a related aside, I am running a Rotor SRM on Danny Martin's bike from last season and it is a really good unit! It is impressively stiff and light. I would recommend that system to anyone.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Racing2, Yahoo [Bot] and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Rotor conversion BB with C'Dale crank?

in Road

FastforaSlowGuy

4

389

Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:56 pm

eric View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Rotor 3D Mountain vs Road crank installation

in Road

Getter

3

473

Tue Mar 11, 2014 5:08 am

jooo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Rotor 3DF non-driveside on a 3D+ driveside crank

in Road

Kermithimself

4

355

Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:00 pm

Kermithimself View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Differences in DS Crank/Spider Thickness?

in Road

bananasbrah

1

174

Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:08 pm

eric View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Rotor Flow vs Rotor 3D+ 2014

in Road

IchDien

9

2696

Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:21 pm

nd2rc View the latest post


It is currently Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:28 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB